Monday?s Expert
Players Awards - Round 19

League Wrap: Round 19, 15-17 July 2005 The pressure is on Matt Bowen to retain his number one spot in this year?s Players Awards. The Cowboys fullback is still in front on 19 points, but Broncos? five eighth Darren Lockyer has thrown down the gauntlet and is now only one point behind on 18 points.

Meanwhile the usual mob are pushing for claims, however this Monday?s expert can?t help but notice the rising presence of one A Johns.

Previously listed as injured and shot to bits, Andrew Johns has put in some outstanding performances of late including being the winning factor for New South Wales in this year?s State of Origin.

The Newcastle half back has suddenly moved up to 10 points overall, and there?s still seven rounds to play! The prospect of avoiding the wooden spoon is incentive enough for anyone to play out of their skins. So here?s a tip, look out for Joey and the Newcastle Knights in the coming weeks.

The full leader board is below.

The players of the match are decided by our live score updaters and tallied here each week on Mondays Expert?s League wrap.

MATCH RESULTS: PENRITH PANTHERS 16 Tries: Wesser, Franze, Campbell Goals: Campbell (2/3) CANTERBURY BULLDOGS 18 Tries: Maitua 2, El Masri Goals: El Masri (3/3) Field Goals: Anasta (0/1) Penrith Stadium Fri 7:30pm Crowd: 16,270 Referee: Paul Simpkins Half time: Bulldogs 18-6 players of the match: 3 - R Asotasi (Bulldogs) 2 - R Maitua (Bulldogs) 1 - M O'Meley (Bulldogs)

SYDNEY ROOSTERS 22 Tries: Schubert, Roberts, Minichiello, Finch Goals: Fitzgibbon 3/4 NEW ZEALAND WARRIORS 24 Tries: Wiki, Hohaia 2, Webb Goals: Jones 3/4 CON, 1/1 PG Aussie Stadium Sat 5:30pm Crowd: 13,789 Referee: Paul Simpkins Half time: Roosters 12-8 players of the match: 3 - N Fein (Warriors) 2 - R Wiki (Warriors) 1 - B Finch (Roosters)

CRONULLA SHARKS 30 Tries: Merritt 2, Peachey, Sullivan, Mellars Goals: Merritt 3/5 NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS 26 Tries: Simpson 2, Tighe, Salkeld Goals: Johns 5/7 Toyota Park Sat 7:30pm Crowd: 14,027 Referee: Sean Hampstead Half time: Knights 14-10 players of the match: 3 - A Johns (Knights) 2 - N Merritt (Sharks) 1 - V Mellars (Sharks)

NTH QUEENSLAND COWBOYS 14 Tries: Sing, Smith, Williams Goals: Thurston (1/3) STH SYDNEY RABBITOHS 16 Tries: Stuart, Harrison, Sutton Goals: Watts (2/5) Dairy Farmers Stadium Sat 7:30pm Crowd: 17,038 Referee: Shayne Hayne Half time: 10-all players of the match: 3 - P Cusack (Rabbitohs) 2 - T Williams (Cowboys) 1 - J Sutton (Rabbitohs)

BRISBANE BRONCOS 28 Tries: Lockyer, S Berrigan, Thorn, Seymour, Barnes Goals: Lockyer 4/7 MELBOURNE STORM 15 Tries: Orford, Johnson Goals: Orford 3/4 Field Goal: Orford 1/1 Suncorp Stadium Sun 2:30pm Referee: Russell Smith Half time: Storm 15-10 players of the match: 3 - S Webcke (Broncos) 2 - D Lockyer (Broncos) 1 - B Seymour (Broncos)

CANBERRA RAIDERS 26 Tries: Graham 2, Frawley, Howell, Croker Goals: Schifcofske 3/4 PARRAMATTA EELS 18 Tries: Morrison, B.Smith, Riddell Goals: Burt 3/3 Canberra Stadium Sun 3:00pm Crowd: 13,238 Referee: Tony Archer Half time: Eels 12-8 players of the match: 3 - P Graham (Raiders) 2 - C Schifcofske (Raiders) 1 - J Croker (Raiders)

MANLY SEA EAGLES 10 Tries: Stewart, Hicks Goals: Hicks 1/2 ST GEORGE ILLAWARRA DRAGONS 36 Tries: Creagh, Greenshields, Naiqama, Best, Bailey, Thompson Goals: Naiqama 6/6 Brookvale Oval Sun 3:00pm Referee: Stephen Clark Half time: Dragons 24-6 players of the match: 3 - L Bailey (Dragons) 2 - B Creagh (Dragons) 1 - W Naiqama (Dragons)


Full draw and results ? CLICK HERE

Next weekend?s matches: Round 20, 22-24 July 2005

Bulldogs v Broncos - Telstra Stadium - Fri 7:30pm Warriors v Raiders - Ericsson Stadium - Sat 5:30pm (AEST), 7:30pm (NZ) Cowboys v Panthers - Dairy Farmers Stadium - Sat 7:30pm Eels v Knights - Parramatta Stadium - Sat 7:30pm Storm v Roosters - Olympic Park - Sun 2:30pm Dragons v Sharks - Oki Jubilee Stadium - Sun 3:00pm Wests Tigers v Rabbitohs - Leichhardt Oval - Sun 3:00pm Sea Eagles v BYE

LEAGUEUNLIMITED.COM PLAYER AWARDS 2005 LEADER BOARD The players awards are decided by our live score updaters. Want to be a live score updater? For further enquiries, email us.

19 points M Bowen (Cowboys) 18 points D Lockyer (Broncos) 17 points B Hornby (Dragons), M Orford (Storm), B Slater (Storm) 14 points N Hindmarsh (Eels), B Kennedy (Sea Eagles) 13 points S Jones (Warriors) 12 points S Menzies (Sea Eagles), S Prince (Tigers), J Smith (Raiders) 11 points R Asotasi (Bulldogs), P Campbell (Panthers), S Webcke (Broncos) 10 points B Anasta (Bulldogs), B Hodgson (Tigers), A Johns (Knights), C Schifcofske (Raiders), T Smith (Eels) 9 points B Kimmorley (Sharks), A Laffranchi (Tigers), M Minichiello (Rabbitohs), D Peachey (Sharks), D Stagg (Broncos), A Watmough (Sea Eagles), R Wiki (Warriors) 8 points J Cayless (Roosters), A Minichiello (Roosters), L Priddis (Panthers), R Wesser (Panthers) 7 points H El Masri (Bulldogs), P Gallen (Sharks), A Harrison (Rabbitohs), M King (Storm), M Monaghan (Sea Eagles), J Morris (Eels), D Nutley (Sharks), J Thurston (Cowboys), T Waterhouse (Panthers), D Young (Dragons) 6 points S Berrigan (Broncos), E Grothe (Eels), K Kahler (Raiders), G Morrison (Eels), M Riddell (Eels), A Ryan (Bulldogs), M Sing (Cowboys), J Sutton (Rabbitohs), P Whatuira (Tigers), L Withers (Raiders), S Woolford (Raiders) 5 points L Bailey (Dragons), P Bailey (Sharks), T Byrne (Warriors), R Cross (Roosters), C Fitzgibbon (Roosters), M Geyer (Storm), R Jensen (Cowboys), S Price (Warriors), C Smith (Storm), A Tongue (Raiders), D Widders (Eels), J Williams (Rabbitohs), M Witt (Sea Eagles) 4 points P Bowman (Cowboys), T Grimaldi (Bulldogs), S Faumuina (Warriors), J Hannay (Cowboys), M Head (Dragons), K Hunt (Broncos), W Koopu (Warriors), H Maiava (Sharks), J Monaghan (Roosters), W Naiqama (Dragons), C Parker (Broncos), B Seymour (Broncos), B Tate (Broncos), C Wing (Roosters) 3 points D Buderus (Knights), N Cayless (Eels), T Campese (Raiders), M Chalk (Raiders), M Cooper (Dragons), L Covell (Sharks), P Cusack (Rabbitohs), A Dykes (Sharks), M Ennis (Dragons), N Fein (Warriors), B Finch (Roosters), P Graham (Raiders), T Hill (Sea Eagles), J Hodges (Broncos), R Hoffman (Storm), L Hohaia (Warriors), PJ Marsh (Eels), W McKinnon (Eels), A Morley (Roosters), M O'Neill (Tigers), L Patten (Bulldogs), P Richards (Tigers), A Roberts (Roosters), J Ryles (Dragons), B Sherwin (Bulldogs), L Thompson (Dragons), B Thorn (Broncos), C Toopi (Warriors), N Vagana (Sharks), M Vatuvei (Warriors), C Webb (Cowboys), T Williams (Cowboys) 2 points R Bell (Rabbitohs), S Bell (Storm), B Berrigan (Broncos), P Civoniceva (Broncos), B Creagh (Dragons), D Faiumu (Cowboys), R Farah (Tigers), N Fien (Warriors), C Flannery (Roosters), M Gafa (Raiders), D Galea (Panthers), M Gidley (Knights), C Gower (Panthers), A Guttenbeil (Warriors), R Kearns (Storm), H L'Estrange (Roosters), A MacDougall (Rabbitohs), R Maitua (Bulldogs), B Marshall (Tigers), N Merritt (Sharks), C Newton (Knights), I Paleaasina (Warriors), P Rauhihi (Cowboys), L Ricketson (Roosters), B Smith (Eels), S Simpson (Knights), S Southern (Cowboys), B Stewart (Sea Eagles), M Sullivan (Sharks), A Tupou (Roosters), G Turner (Storm), M Utai (Bulldogs), S Walker (Rabbitohs), B Webb (Warriors) 1 point L Bott (Broncos), A Brideson (Bulldogs), D Cooper (Knights), J Croker (Raiders), B Fletcher (Rabbitohs), L Fulton (Tigers), M Hilder (Sharks), L MacDougall (Rabbitohs), F Meli (Warriors), V Mellars (Sharks), F Moi Moi (Eels), L O'Donnell (Cowboys), M O'Meley (Bulldogs) , A Payne (Cowboys), S Rodney (Panthers), J Ropati (Warriors), M Thaiday (Knights), S Timmins (Dragons), W Tonga (Bulldogs), C Walker (Roosters), J Webster (Storm), S B Williams (Bulldogs), A Woolnough (Knights)

Also: LU Awards - CLICK HERE