New Zealand name 22-man squad

The New Zealand selectors today named their 22-man squad to take on the Kangaroos in the upcoming Anzac Day Test Match.

Plenty of talk has surrounded the decimation of the side through injury and suspension, with leading forwards Sonny Bill Williams, Tony Puletua, Joe Galuvao and Monty Betham all unavailable.

But the squad is very competitive and well-balanced, with four new-comers in Benji Marshall, Bronson Harrison, Jerome Ropati and Frank Pritchard who will all add their own spice to the match if selected. The only player selected that's not currently in the NRL was London Bronco Thomas Leuluia.

The Anzac Day Test Match will be held at Suncorp Stadium on 22nd April 2005. The clash promises to be much closer than some pundits may think, with the Kiwis always growing an extra leg when they wrap themselves in their National strip.

The squad is:

Louis Anderson (Warriors), Roy Asotasi (Bulldogs), Jason Cayless (Roosters), Alex Chan (Storm), Sione Faumuina (Warriors), Dene Halatau (Warriors), Bronson Harrison (Tigers), Lance Hohaia (Warriors), David Kidwell (Storm), Wairangi Koopu (Warriors), Thomas Leuluai (London Broncos), Jamaal Lolesi (Bulldogs), Benji Marshall (Tigers), Frank Pritchard (Panthers), Paul Rauhihi (Cowboys), Jerome Ropati (Warriors), Clinton Toopi (Warriors), Matt Utai (Bulldogs), Nigel Vagana (Sharks), Brent Webb (Warriors), Paul Whatuira (Tigers), Ruben Wiki (Warriors).