NRL Match Previews - Canberra v Wests (Finals Week 2)

17-09-2010 07:45PM at Canberra Stadium

Referee: Tony Archer and Jared Maxwell
Touch Judges: Paul Holland and Jeff Younis
Referee: Bill Harrigan

How quickly fortunes can change in the Greatest Game of All. Last week, the Tigers were 30 seconds away from a huge win... a week off.... and a much needed rest for their many injured players followed by a 'home' semi final to qualify for the big one. Instead, they are heading to our nations capital to face the form team of the competition and the biggest set of forwards in the southern hemisphere in front of 27,000 Green Machine believers. The McIntyre system really bends you over a barrel, doesn't it?

To avoid an end to their season, the Wests Tigers will have to deliver the best performance of their collective careers. They must overcome the heartbreak of last week's loss and a long list of wounded troops.

However, let's say they do turn up on Friday night with a full squad.... it probably won't matter anyway. The Raiders are surging and have all the momentum in this match. Unless the visitors get off to a blinding start and put pressure on this young Canberra team, they are in for a long night. Rather, we predict Canberra lead from start to finish and the party begins in Bruce.

My Tip: Canberra 30-12

The Teams

  Canberra Raiders               Wests Tigers 
No Suspensions

J. Thompson
C. Lasscock
A. Mogg
J. Miller
1. Josh DuganFullback1. Sean Meaney
2. Reece RobinsonWing2. Lote Tuqiri
3. Jarrod CrokerCentre3. Blake Ayshford
4. Joel MonaghanCentre4. Mitch Brown
5. Daniel VidotWing5. Beau Ryan
6. Terry CampeseFive Eighth6. Benji Marshall
7. Josh McCroneHalfback7. Robert Lui
8. Tom Learoyd-LahrsProp8. Todd Payten
9. Glen ButtrissHooker9. Robbie Farah
10. David ShillingtonProp10. Keith Galloway
11. Joe PickerSecond Row11. Liam Fulton
12. Bronson HarrisonSecond Row12. Gareth Ellis
13. Shaun FensomLock13. Chris Heighington
14. Alan TongueInterchange14. David Fifita
15. Trevor ThurlingInterchange15. Bryce Gibbs
16. Dane TilseInterchange16. Simon Dwyer
17. Scott LoganInterchange17. Daniel Fitzhenry
No Suspensions

W. McKinnon
J. Cayless
T. Tuiaki
A. Woods
T. Moltzen
J. Skandalis
G. Daniela
C. Lawrence
J. Mullaney

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 15 Leichhardt Oval Wests Tigers 18-8
2010 NRL - Round 4 Canberra Stadium Wests Tigers 35-22
2009 Round 20 Canberra Stadium Wests Tigers 25-4
2009 Round 1 Campbelltown Stadium Wests Tigers 34-26
2008 Round 5 Canberra Stadium Canberra Raiders 30-24

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

Other Games this Round