NRL Match Previews - Cowboys v Broncos (Round 22)

06-08-2010 07:35PM at Dairy Farmers Stadium

Referee: Ben Cummins and Gerard Sutton
Touch Judges: David Abood and Gavin Reynolds
Referee: Tim Mander

As the Cowboys wander aimlessly into the setting sun that is season 2010 with Mad Monday celebrations already on their mind, the mighty Brisbane Broncos head into Townsville as pronounced favourites for Friday night's match at Dairy Farmers Stadium. Rightly so. The Cowboys have not produced a convincing 80 minute performance for some time and difficult to predict they suddenly do so here.

So I won't. Brisbane's hangover from last weekend's exhausting victory over the Dragons will only last for the opening 20 minutes but as always, Darren Lockyer will spark the comeback. North Queensland show plenty of energy early but fade away as the visitors continue their run towards the finals. Willie Tonga v Israel Folau a highlight but it will be the Broncos forwards who dominate at the back end of this Queensland derby.

My Man of the Match Prediction: Corey Parker
My Tip: Broncos 26-14

The Teams

  North Queensland Cowboys               Brisbane Broncos 
No Suspensions

S. Southern
M. Achuch
R. Thompson
S. Rapira
1. Matt BowenFullback1. Josh Hoffman
2. Ashley GrahamWing2. Antonio Winterstein
3. Ty WilliamsCentre3. Alex Glenn
4. Willie TongaCentre4. Israel Folau
5. Will TupouWing5. Jharal Yow Yeh
6. Arana TaumataFive Eighth6. Darren Lockyer
7. Johnathan ThurstonHalfback7. Peter Wallace
8. Matthew ScottProp8. Shane Tronc
9. Aaron PayneHooker9. Andrew McCullough
10. Willie MasonProp10. Nick Kenny
11. Scott BoltonSecond Row11. Matt Gillett
12. Leeson Ah MauSecond Row12. Sam Thaiday
13. Luke O'DonnellLock13. Corey Parker
14. Anthony WattsInterchange14. Ben Hunt
15. Dane HoganInterchange15. Josh McGuire
16. Carl WebbInterchange16. Mitchell Dodds
17. James TamouInterchange17. Scott Anderson
No Suspensions

B. Te'o
J. Hodges
D. Copley
R. Ahern
K. Lingwoodock
D. Kemp

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 1 Suncorp Stadium Brisbane Broncos 30-24
2009 Round 25 Dairy Farmers Stadium Brisbane Broncos 16-10
2009 Round 1 Suncorp Stadium Brisbane Broncos 19-18
2008 Round 19 Dairy Farmers Stadium Brisbane Broncos 32-18
2008 Round 3 Suncorp Stadium Brisbane Broncos 36-2

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

(Justin Davies)


Total Score
Non Terminator
(Josh Hill)


Total Score
(Kevin Brennan)


Total Score
(Coby Delaney)


Total Score
(Steve Williams)


Total Score

Other Games this Round