NRL Match Previews - South Sydney v Manly Warringah (Round 4)

01-04-2011 07:45PM at Bluetongue Stadium, Gosford

Referee: Ashley Klein and Adam Devcich
Touch Judges: Russell Turner and Ricky MacFarlane
Referee: Sean Hampstead

With the Rabbits opening their account for season 2011 last Friday night against the Eels, fans and media alike may lay off them for at least another week. A week is all you get in the NRL; a week to prepare, a week to get over a loss, a week to hopefully recover from injury... you get the point. South Sydney now has this week to prove their critics wrong about inconsistency and about the performances of Chris Sandow and John Sutton.

Sutton will again be the focal point of the Bunnies' attack in this match; and for the Manly defence. Speaking of which, how brutal have they been in the last fortnight? Credit must go to the Eagles as they turn back the rugby league clock and win games by bashing their opponents into submission. Will it work against South Sydney on Friday night in Gosford? No. Asotasi and co. rise to the challenge and another blood-bath ensues. Souths in a close one.

My Man of the Match Prediction: Greg Inglis
My Tip: South Sydney 24-22

The Teams

  South Sydney Rabbitohs               Manly Sea Eagles 
E. Pettybourne

R. Wesser
S. Burgess
S. Geddes
B. Lowe
1. Rhys WesserFullback1. Brett Stewart
2. Nathan MerrittWing2. Michael Robertson
3. Dylan FarrellCentre3. Jamie Lyon
4. Greg InglisCentre4. William Hopoate
5. Fetuli TalanoaWing5. David Williams
6. John SuttonFive Eighth6. Kieran Foran
7. Chris SandowHalfback7. Daly Cherry-Evans
8. Luke StuartProp8. Jason King
9. Issac LukeHooker9. Matt Ballin
10. Roy AsotasiProp10. Brent Kite
11. Sam BurgessSecond Row11. Anthony Watmough
12. Dave TaylorSecond Row12. Joe Galuvao
13. Dave TyrellLock13. Glenn Stewart
14. Ben RossInterchange14. Terence Seu Seu
15. Shannan McPhersonInterchange15. Jamie Buhrer
16. Michael CrockerInterchange16. George Rose
17. Chris McQueenInterchange17. Vic Mauro
S. Matai

S. Rodney

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 15 Brookvale Oval Manly Sea Eagles 26-25
2010 NRL - Round 8 ANZ Stadium Manly Sea Eagles 30-22
2009 Round 22 Brookvale Oval South Sydney Rabbitohs 36-22
2009 Round 6 ANZ Stadium, Homebush Manly Sea Eagles 24-8
2008 Round 23 ANZ Stadium, Homebush South Sydney Rabbitohs 40-32

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

Other Games this Round