NRL Preview and Tips - Round 7

Brisbane Broncos V Parramatta Eels Friday 24 April 2009 19:35 - Suncorp Stadium Referees: Jared Maxwell & Brett Suttor Sideline: Gavin Reynolds & Steve Carrall Video: Russell Smith

BRONCOS: 1. Karmichael Hunt 2. Antonio Winterstein 3. Steve Michaels 4. Justin Hodges 5. Israel Folau 6. Darren Lockyer (c) 7. Peter Wallace 8. Nick Kenny 9. Andrew McCullough 10. Joel Clinton 11. Sam Thaiday 12. Ashton Sims 13. Corey Parker Interchange: 14. Aaron Gorrell 15. Palmer Wapau 16. Josh McGuire 17. Alex Glen EELS: 1. Luke Burt 2. Etu Uaisele 3. Jarryd Hayne 4. Taulima Tautai 5. Joel Reddy 6. Feleti Mateo 7. Kris Keating 8. Nathan Cayless 9. Matthew Keating 10. Fuifui Moimoi 11. Todd Lowrie 12. Ben Smith 13. Nathan Hindmarsh Interchange: 14. Jeff Robson 15. Weller Huaraki 16. Tim Mannah 17. Brendan Oake; Reserves: 19. Joe Galuvao

A heavily criticised Parramatta outfit will be determined to answer their critics in the best way possible by defeating the front running Brisbane Broncos at Suncorp Stadium. After a hefty loss to the Bulldogs last weekend, coach Daniel Anderson questioned the passion and commitment to the Parramatta jersey from some of his players. First to feel the wrath was Kiwi international Krisnan Inu who has been demoted to the NSW cup after some disinterested performances giving Taulima Tautai his second appearance for the season. Workaholic Nathan Hindmarsh will attempt to put the disappointment of missing out on the 40 man NSW State of Origin squad behind him as he comes back from injury and Etu Uaisele will make his debut for the Eels replacing Eric Grothe who has a back injury. For the Broncos, boom forward Dave Taylor has been sent back to the QLD cup to get some much needed match fitness after limited time the last few weeks. In his absence Redcliffe forward Palmer Wapau will make his long awaited NRL debut at the ripe old age of 26. VM

Paul: Broncos by 14 Vlado: Broncos by 8

South Sydney Rabbitohs V Cronulla Sharks Friday 24 April 2009 19:35 - ANZ Stadium Referees: Ben Cummins & Alan Shortall Sideline: Luke Potter & David Abood Video: Paul Simpkins

RABBITOHS: 1. Luke Capewell 2. Nathan Merritt 3. Colin Best 4. Beau Champion 5. Fetuli Talanoa 6. John Sutton 7. Chris Sandow 8. Luke Stuart 9. Issac Luke 10. Roy Asotasi (c) 11. David Kidwell 12. David Fa'alogo 13. Craig Wing Interchange: 14. Jamie Simpson 15. Eddy Pettybourne 16. Jaiman Lowe 17. Scott Geddes; Reserves: 18. Ben Lowe 19. Shannan McPherson SHARKS: 1. Mitch Brown 2. David Simmons 3. Ben Pomeroy 4. Matthew Wright 5. Luke Covell 6. Trent Barrett 7. Brett Seymour 8. Luke Douglas 9. Corey Hughes 10. Kade Snowden 11. Reece Williams 12. Anthony Tupou 13. Paul Gallen Interchange: 14. Reni Maitua 15. Bryan Norrie 16. Terence Seu Seu 17. Blake Ferguson; Reserves: 18. Ian Donnelly

The Rabbitohs will focus on regaining some consistency as they host the last placed Cronulla Sharks at Homebush. After several games back from injury, Craig Wing has been selected to start the match at lock and his tackle count of 41 from last week suggests that his match involvement is really starting to increase boding well for the Rabbitohs. The Sharks were comprehensively defeated by a Johnathan Thurston inspired Cowboys side last week in Adelaide giving them five straight losses after their round 1 victory over the Panthers. Skipper Paul Gallen returns to the side from a 2 week suspension in a bid to bolster their leaking defence. Ferociously competitive, the Sharks have really missed Gallen