NRL Previews - Broncos v Bulldogs (Round 8)

29-04-2011 07:30PM at Suncorp Stadium

Referees: Gavin Badger and Adam Devcich
Touch Judges: Ricky Macfarlane and Clayton Sharpe
Video Referee: Tim Mander

To kick off the last round before representative scheduling destroys big games like this one, the Brisbane Broncos host the Bulldogs at Suncorp Stadium on Friday night. Match of the Round for mine as youngsters Trent Hodkinson and Kris Keating face the NRLs best defence and set out to prove that youth can overcome experience. This is just one of many great matchups across the park.

Justin Hodges is showing no signs of a hangover from ankle surgery and will be at his devastating best against Josh Morris in a possible origin preview. The biggest battle, however, will be the speed and discipline of the Broncos defensive line against the creativity of the Bulldogs' attack. With Ben Barba in the form that he is in, the visitors will have just enough points in them to stop the Bronco juggernaut and steal the two points in a beauty.

My Tip: Bulldogs 22-18

The Teams

  Brisbane Broncos               Canterbury Bulldogs 
No Suspensions

M. Gillett
B. Te'o
S. Anderson
J. Hoffman
M. Gillett
1. Gerard BealeFullback1. Ben Barba
2. Dale CopleyWing2. Steve Turner
3. Jack ReedCentre3. Josh Morris
4. Justin HodgesCentre4. Jamal Idris
5. Jharal Yow YehWing5. Michael Lett
6. Darren LockyerFive Eighth6. Kris Keating
7. Peter WallaceHalfback7. Trent Hodkinson
8. Ben HannantProp8. Aiden Tolman
9. Andrew McCulloughHooker9. Michael Ennis
10. Dane CarlawProp10. Mickey Paea
11. Alex GlennSecond Row11. Frank Pritchard
12. Sam ThaidaySecond Row12. Andrew Ryan
13. Corey ParkerLock13. David Stagg
14. Mitchell DoddsInterchange14. Greg Eastwood
15. Josh McGuireInterchange15. Grant Millington
16. Nick KennyInterchange16. Corey Payne
17. Ben HuntInterchange17. Dene Halatau
No Suspensions

T. Browne
M. Hodgson
B. Goodwin

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 7 ANZ Stadium Canterbury Bulldogs 36-18
2009 Round 14 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Canterbury Bulldogs 44-22
2008 Round 25 ANZ Stadium Brisbane Broncos 36-22
2008 Round 18 Suncorp Stadium Canterbury Bulldogs 26-18
2007 Round 23 Suncorp Stadium Canterbury Bulldogs 25-24

Other Games this Round