NRL Previews - Rabbitohs v Dragons (Round 6)

18-04-2011 07:00PM at ANZ Stadium

Referees: Jared Maxwell and Alan Shortall
Touch Judges: Adam Reid and Clayton Sharpe
Video Referee: Sean Hampstead

As has been their custom over the past 3 years, the Dragons have simply shut down every attack they face and turned every opponent towards desperation. Some can keep it close and even sneak away with the occasional victory, but most simply fade away and become victims of the best defence in the competition. South Sydney, the team with the worst defence in the competition, hosts the reigning premiers on Monday night at ANZ Stadium.

This could be a massacre. The 'Pride of the League' could quickly turn into the 'Shame of the Week'... If the Rabbitohs fail to bring their best to Homebush, things could turn nasty in the Burrow but fear not my feathered, fluffy-tailed friends, it won't be as bad as you fear. The likes of Burgess and Taylor launch themselves into the fire, so to speak, and gain some respectability but Souths just aren't on the same level. Dragons too good.

My Tip: Dragons 22-4

The Teams

  South Sydney Rabbitohs               St George Illawarra Dragons 
E. Pettybourne

S. Geddes
L. Stuart
B. Lowe
1. Rhys WesserFullback1. Darius Boyd
2. Nathan MerrittWing2. Brett Morris
3. Dylan FarrellCentre3. Mark Gasnier
4. Greg InglisCentre4. Matt Cooper
5. Fetuli TalanoaWing5. Jason Nightingale
6. John SuttonFive Eighth6. Jamie Soward
7. Chris SandowHalfback7. Ben Hornby
8. Sam BurgessProp8. Dan Hunt
9. Issac LukeHooker9. Nathan Fien
10. Roy AsotasiProp10. Trent Merrin
11. Dave TyrellSecond Row11. Beau Scott
12. Dave TaylorSecond Row12. Ben Creagh
13. Michael CrockerLock13. Luke Priddis
14. Ben RossInterchange14. Jon Green
15. Shannan McPhersonInterchange15. Dean Young
16. Nathan PeatsInterchange16. Adam Cuthbertson
17. Chris McQueenInterchange17. Kyle Stanley
No Suspensions

C. King
M. Weyman
N. Emmett

Head to Head

2011 Charity Shield ANZ Stadium St George Illawarra Dragons 32-10
2010 NRL - Round 26 WIN Jubilee Oval St George Illawarra Dragons 38-24
2010 NRL - Round 19 ANZ Stadium St George Illawarra Dragons 16-13
2010 Charity Shield ANZ Stadium Draw 26 all
2009 Round 25 ANZ Stadium, Homebush South Sydney Rabbitohs 41-6

Other Games this Round