NRL Previews - Rabbitohs v Sharks (Round 8)

29-04-2011 07:30PM at ANZ Stadium

Referees: Tony Archer and Brett Suttor
Touch Judges: Russell Turner and Adam Reid
Video Referee: Russell Smith

The Rabbitohs performance last week suggests they don't quite believe in themselves, their game plan, their defensive structure or each other. Whilst Chris Sandow begins to shed some of the negative reputation that has followed him in recent times, his halves partner John Sutton seems to be moving in the opposite direction. The Bunnies have a rising injury toll to go with their playmaker issues. Tough times.

Even tougher times in the Shire though with the Sharks' two main strike weapons out with injury so this will be a true test of their depth. Will Tim Smith pass this test? No. Will John Sutton break out of his season long funk? No. Will Paul Gallen and Michael Crocker break the NRL record for niggling in one match? Hard to keep score. Speaking of scoring, there won't be much of it in this match but Souths crawl away with it against a depleted Cronulla side.

My Tip: Rabbitohs 16-10

The Teams

  South Sydney Rabbitohs               Cronulla Sutherland Sharks 
No Suspensions

S. Geddes
L. Stuart
B. Lowe
S. Burgess
1. James RobertsFullback1. Isaac Gordon
2. Nathan MerrittWing2. Matthew Wright
3. Dylan FarrellCentre3. Ben Pomeroy
4. Greg InglisCentre4. Colin Best
5. Chris McQueenWing5. John Williams
6. John SuttonFive Eighth6. Wade Graham
7. Chris SandowHalfback7. Tim Smith
8. Ben RossProp8. Kade Snowden
9. Issac LukeHooker9. Paul Aiton
10. Roy AsotasiProp10. Luke Douglas
11. Dave TyrellSecond Row11. Jeremy Smith
12. Dave TaylorSecond Row12. Anthony Tupou
13. Michael CrockerLock13. Paul Gallen
14. Jason ClarkInterchange14. Josh Cordoba
15. Shannan McPhersonInterchange15. Broderick Wright
16. Nathan PeatsInterchange16. Stuart Flanagan
17. Eddy PettybourneInterchange17. Jason Bukuya
No Suspensions

A. Kelly
N. Gardner
J. Morris

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 3 Toyota Stadium South Sydney Rabbitohs 30-8
2009 Round 26 Toyota Stadium, Cronulla South Sydney Rabbitohs 26-24
2009 Round 7 ANZ Stadium South Sydney Rabbitohs 32-26
2008 Round 22 Toyota Stadium Cronulla Sutherland Sharks 28-14
2008 Round 5 ANZ Stadium Cronulla Sutherland Sharks 12-10

Other Games this Round