NRL Previews - Roosters v Rabbitohs (Round 1)

11-03-2011 07:45PM at Sydney Football Stadium

Referees: Tony Archer and Alan Shortall
Touch Judges: Paul Holland and Russell Turner
Video Referee: Paul Simpkins

Ladies and Gentleman, boys and girls, children of all ages: Welcome to season 2011 of the toughest competition in the world. So, without wasting any more time with the likes of Tony Greig, Peter Roebuck and Michael Clarke, let's go to the Sydney Football Stadium this Friday night for what shapes up to be a cracking season opener between the Roosters and South Sydney.

Arch enemies? Yes. A violent history? Yes. Book of Feuds? Whatever. This match will be a test, once again, for the enigmatic halves pairing of Sutton and Sandow, especially considering they must overcome the Roosters elite, proven pair of halves in Mitchell Pearce and Braith Anasta. This is where the game will be won or lost with two great forwards packs belting each other for 80 minutes. The class of the Roosters gets them home.

My Tip: Roosters 27-18

The Teams

  Sydney Roosters    South Sydney Rabbitohs 
No Suspensions

A. Cherrington
A. Watts
A. Guerra
P. Graham
T. Carney
1. Anthony Minichiello Fullback 1. Rhys Wesser
2. Sam Perrett Wing 2. Nathan Merritt
3. Shaun Kenny-Dowall Centre 3. Dylan Farrell
4. Kane Linnett Centre 4. Greg Inglis
5. Joseph Leilua Wing 5. Fetuli Talanoa
6. Braith Anasta Five Eighth 6. John Sutton
7. Mitchell Pearce Halfback 7. Chris Sandow
8. Jason Ryles Prop 8. Luke Stuart
9. Jake Friend Hooker 9. Issac Luke
10. Martin Kennedy Prop 10. Roy Asotasi
11. Frank-Paul Nuuausala Second Row 11. Sam Burgess
12. Mitchell Aubusson Second Row 12. Dave Taylor
13. Nate Myles Lock 13. Ben Lowe
14. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves Interchange 14. Scott Geddes
15. Mose Masoe Interchange 15. Ben Ross
16. Mark Riddell Interchange 16. Eddy Pettybourne
17. Tom Symonds Interchange 17. Shannan McPherson
No Suspensions

J. Clark
M. Crocker

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 18 Sydney Football Stadium Sydney Roosters 18-14
2010 NRL - Round 1 ANZ Stadium Sydney Roosters 36-10
2009 Round 20 ANZ Stadium, Homebush Bay South Sydney Rabbitohs 40-20
2009 Round 1 Sydney Football Stadium South Sydney Rabbitohs 52-12
2008 Round 25 Sydney Football Stadium Sydney Roosters 22-20

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

Other Games this Round