NRL Previews - Sharks v Dragons (Round 2)

21-03-2011 07:00PM at Toyota Stadium

Referees: Jason Robinson and Chris James
Touch Judges: Luke Potter and Adam Gee
Video Referee: Bernard Sutton

Mis-match of the round. Breaking in a new combination at 6 and 7 takes time and for Cronulla's Wade Graham and Albert Kelly, there will be no tougher test this season. The Dragons defence has allowed an average of just over 12 points per match over the past 50 rounds of Rugby League. Ridiculous. Cronulla, on the other hand, have scored an average of around 14 points over this same period.

So, with those fascinating stats firmly entrenched in your memory, do you believe that Cronulla coach Shane Flanagan can deliver a miracle to Sharks fans that have been waiting so patiently for a win over their arch rivals? Neither do I. Also, if you are desperate for one more statistics on this match, note that since the Wayne Bennett era began in 2009, Cronulla has scored a total of 14 points in a combined 4 local derbies. More of the same here.

My Tip: Dragons 30-0

The Teams

  Cronulla Sutherland Sharks               St George Illawarra Dragons 
P. Aiton

J. Bukuya
S. Porter
1. Nathan GardnerFullback1. Darius Boyd
2. Matthew WrightWing2. Brett Morris
3. Dean CollisCentre3. Mark Gasnier
4. Colin BestCentre4. Matt Cooper
5. John WilliamsWing5. Jason Nightingale
6. Albert KellyFive Eighth6. Jamie Soward
7. Wade GrahamHalfback7. Ben Hornby
8. Kade SnowdenProp8. Dan Hunt
9. John MorrisHooker9. Nathan Fien
10. Luke DouglasProp10. Michael Weyman
11. Jeremy SmithSecond Row11. Beau Scott
12. Anthony TupouSecond Row12. Ben Creagh
13. Paul GallenLock13. Matt Prior
14. Josh CordobaInterchange14. Michael Greenfield
15. Broderick WrightInterchange15. Mitchell Rein
16. Stuart FlanaganInterchange16. Trent Merrin
17. Ben PomeroyInterchange17. Jon Green
No Suspensions

D. Young
C. King

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 15 Toyota Stadium St George Illawarra Dragons 22-4
2010 NRL - Round 8 WIN Stadium St George Illawarra Dragons 38-0
2009 Round 11 Toyota Stadium St George Illawarra Dragons 26-4
2009 Round 3 Jubilee Oval, Kogarah St George Illawarra Dragons 10-6
2008 Round 21 Toyota Stadium Cronulla Sutherland Sharks 13-12

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

Other Games this Round