NRL Previews - Tigers v Warriors (Round 2)

19-03-2011 07:30PM at Leichhardt Oval

Referees: Tony Archer and Alan Shortall
Touch Judges: Steve Carrall and Gavin Morris
Video Referee: Chris Ward

The Warriors were never able to find a rhythm last week against a disciplined Parramatta team and they won't find things any easier on Saturday night. The Tigers, after underperforming last Monday, come home to Leichardt Oval where Benji Marshall will no doubt receive a hero's welcome from his most faithful fans and will be hoping to receive similar support from his forwards. The Tigers pack is already hampered by injury.

So, with the scene set and home side on market as favourites, I'll stick with the bookies and tip that Robbie Farah has a blinder and the Warriors fail to overcome the loss of key playmakers James Maloney and Manu Vatuvei. Keep an eye on 22 year old five-eighth Isaac John, playing only his 9th NRL match for the Warriors and facing Benji Marshall in what should be quite an occasion for this junior Kiwi. Tigers to good and too fast out wide.

My Tip: Wests Tigers 30-14

The Teams

  Wests Tigers               New Zealand Warriors 
No Suspensions

N. Akeripa
L. Fulton
J. Cayless
T. Tuiaki
B. Murdoch
J. Moors
1. Wade McKinnonFullback1. Lance Hohaia
2. Lote TuqiriWing2. Glen Fisiiahi
3. Blake AyshfordCentre3. Joel Moon
4. Chris LawrenceCentre4. Jerome Ropati
5. Matthew UtaiWing5. Krisnan Inu
6. Benji MarshallFive Eighth6. Isaac John
7. Robert LuiHalfback7. Brett Seymour
8. Bryce GibbsProp8. Sam Rapira
9. Robbie FarahHooker9. Aaron Heremaia
10. Keith GallowayProp10. Russell Packer
11. Simon DwyerSecond Row11. Simon Mannering
12. Gareth EllisSecond Row12. Feleti Mateo
13. Chris HeighingtonLock13. Michael Luck
14. Tim MoltzenInterchange14. Shaun Berrigan
15. Aaron WoodsInterchange15. Jacob Lillyman
16. Andrew FifitaInterchange16. Ben Matulino
17. Todd PaytenInterchange17. Lewis Brown
J. Maloney

G. Fisiiahi
M. Vatuvei

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 12 Campbelltown Sports Stadium Wests Tigers 50-6
2009 Round 12 Mt Smart Stadium New Zealand Warriors 14-0
2008 Round 16 Leichhardt Oval New Zealand Warriors 28-26
2007 Round 19 Campbelltown Sports Stadium New Zealand Warriors 28-16
2007 Round 10 Mt Smart Stadium Wests Tigers 30-26

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

Other Games this Round