NRL scraps McIntyre finals system

The Australian Rugby League Commission has announced a change to the 2012 Telstra Premiership Finals Series at today's NRL Chief Executives' meeting in Sydney.

On the day of the official season launch, the Commission informed clubs that it had accepted a recommendation to move away from the McIntyre system which had been a part of the Telstra Premiership since 1999.

For the first time since 1996, the competition will split the top four and the bottom four finalists into separate pools in week one of the Telstra Premiership Finals Series (The Australian Rugby League used such a model in both 1995 and 1996).

Whereas the McIntyre system