The NRL survived week one without a draw in sight as crowds flocked in to see a round of bone crunching footy.

With The Hoodoo Gurus belting out the 2003 NRL theme song, it was a mixed bag for punters with a number of favourites going down; including the Sharks who squandered a 22-0 lead and crashed to a storming Melbourne side.

On the dust-up front, Bronco's pugilist skipper Gorden Tallis survived a date with the match review committee and Dragon's prop Jason Ryles also had no case to answer despite leading with his scone.

Not so lucky for Sharkies' teen sensation Greg Bird who was charged with unceremoniously delivering Rodney Howe's head to the turf.

Big wraps to Easts who sent us back to the days of coat-hanger footy and compliant refereeing. If the Roosters keep that sort of form up, they'll be hard to roll this year.

Surprise packets were the Panthers who gave Brisbane a run for their money and just might be there to give the 2003 comp a decent shake.

League Unlimited's Player of the Year Awards Tally Round One:

3 points A Johns (Knights), S Bell (Storm), D Lockyer (Broncos), B Drew (Raiders), H ElMasri (Bulldogs), L Withers (Wests Tigers), B Fittler (Roosters) 2 points B Kennedy (Knights), S Kearney (Storm), G Tallis (Broncos), C Schicofske (Raiders), J Smith (Souths), D Senter (Wests Tigers), C Fitzgibbon (Roosters) 1 point L Hohaia (Warriors), D Peachey (Sharks), R Girdler (Panthers), P Graham (Raiders), S Price (Bulldogs), L Thompson (Dragons), A Minichiello (Roosters)

Results at a glance

Sydney Roosters 32 (Tries: A Minichiello, J Hodges, B Finch, J Cayless, C Fitzgibbon; Conversions: C Fitzgibbon 4/5) def Parramatta 14 (Tries: L Burt, N Cayless; Conversions: Brett Hodgson 3/3) Referee: B Harrigan Aussie Stadium Crowd: 24,172

Wests Tigers 24 (Tries: M O?Halloran, D Fitzhenry, D Senter, B Galea; Conversions: J Caine 3/4) def St George Illawarra 20 (Tries: M Gasnier (2), J Ryles; Conversions: M Riddell 4/4) Referee: S Hampstead Telstra Stadium Crowd: 42,017 (Double header)

Bulldogs 34 (Tries: L Patten, H El Masri (2), M Utai (2), B Anasta; Conversions: H El Masri 5/6) def Souths 26 (Tries: N Merritt, S Walker, B Fletcher, J Smith; Conversions: O Craigie 2/2, J Smith 3/4) Referee: S Clark Telstra Stadium Crowd: 42,017 (Double header)

Brisbane 24 (Tries: D Lockyer, B Tate, S Kelly, S Berrigan; Conversions: M De Vere 4/5) def Penrith 20 (Tries: R Girdler, R Wesser, L Priddis, L Lewis; Conversions: P Campbell 2/2, Girdler 0/3) Referee: P Simpkins Penrith Stadium Crowd: 13,499

Canberra 46 (Tries: C Schifcofske, J Monaghan, P Graham (2), A Mogg, B Drew, M Monaghan (2); Conversions: C Schifcofske 7/9) def North Queensland 14 (Tries: J Hannay, M Sing (2); Conversions: J Hannay 1/3) Referee: S Lyons Dairy Farmers Stadium Crowd: 15,421

Melbourne 36 (Tries: S Bell (3), M Geyer (2), B Slater, M Orford; Conversions: Orford 4/7) def Cronulla 32 (Tries: D Peachey, J Kent, G Bird, J Stevens, P Bailey, M Hilder; Conversions: B Kimmorley 4/6) Referee: S Hayne Toyota Park Crowd: 12,005

Newcastle 36 (Tries: T Tahu (2), S Simpson, B Kennedy, A Johns, A Quinn; Conversions: Johns 6/6) def Warriors 26 (Tries: L Hohaia (2), J Carlaw, F Meli, H Fa?afili; Conversions: S Jones 3/6) Referee: T Mander Ericsson Stadium Crowd: 16,291