NSW 40-man squad announced

The New South Wales Rugby League today announced their 40-man "induction squad" as Game I of the 2009 State of Origin series draws closer.

The squad meets next Wednesday in Sydney.

Notable absences consist of Roosters trio Willie Mason, Craig Fitzgibbon, and captain Braith Anasta.

Bolters include Souths winger Colin Best and Newcastle young gun James McManus.

Brett Stewart and Josh Morris have both been named despite injury clouds hovering over the pair.

Manly dominates with eight players being selected while the Dragons and Knights have four.

The Squad

Luke Bailey (Titans), Colin Best (Rabbitohs), Terry Campese (Raiders), Matt Cooper (Dragons), Ben Creagh (Dragons), Ben Cross (Knights), Michael Ennis (Bulldogs), Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers), Paul Gallen (Sharks), Keith Galloway (Wests Tigers), Kurt Gidley (Knights)

Jarryd Hayne (Eels), Ryan Hoffman (Storm), Michael Jennings (Panthers), Brent Kite (Sea Eagles), Anthony Laffranchi (Titans), Chris Lawrence (Wests Tigers), Luke Lewis (Panthers), Jamie Lyon (Sea Eagles), James McManus (Knights), Mark Minichiello (Titans), Joel Monaghan (Raiders), Josh Morris (Bulldogs), Jarrod Mullen (Knights)

Luke O'Donnell (Cowboys), Mitchell Pearce (Roosters), Josh Perry (Sea Eagles), Justin Poore (Dragons), Anthony Quinn (Storm), Michael Robertson (Sea Eagles)

Brett Stewart (Sea Eagles), Glenn Stewart (Sea Eagles), John Sutton (Rabbitohs), Alan Tongue (Raiders), Anthony Tupou (Sharks), Peter Wallace (Broncos), Trent Waterhouse (Panthers), Anthony Watmough (Sea Eagles), Michael Weyman (Dragons), David Williams (Sea Eagles)

The Blues face the Maroons in Game I on June 3 at the Etihad Stadium in Melbourne.