NSW side for Game I of 2005 State
of Origin

Today at 11:15 am, the NSW selectors handed down Blues jerseys to their best 17 men for the first State of Origin clash against Queensland at Suncorp Stadium on Wednesday 25th May 2005.

For the most part the team is as expected, with newcomer Matt King finding a wing spot in an enormous looking backline. Anthony Watmough has won his first jersey also, following a string of impressive performances for the Manly club.

Anthony Minichiello has retained the fullback position despite an apparent injury, with Craig Wing and Steve Simpson (dead-set bolter) fighting off strong challenges from the likes of Braith Anasta, Trent Waterhouse, Brent Kite and Joel Clinton to claim bench spots.

In-form veteran Steve Menzies is the 18th man and will cover any potential niggling injuries in the pack.

The official NSW side is:

Anthony Minichiello Matt King Matt Cooper Mark Gasnier Luke Rooney Trent Barrett Brett Kimmorley Luke Bailey Danny Buderus(c) Jason Ryles Nathan Hindmarsh Craig Fitzgibbon Ben Kennedy

Interchange: Craig Wing, Steve Simpson, Andrew Ryan, Anthony Watmough. 18th man: Steve Menzies.