NZ Presidents Selection / 2005 Tag
International Series

With the growing numbers and popularity of the non-contact form of Rugby League, the NZRL are happy to host Australia in Auckland for the 2005 International Tag Series.

Oz Tag teams will take on New Zealand over 7 age divisions including Open Men's, Open Women's, Mixed, Men's 30's, Women's 30's, Open 35's and Men's 40's. Each division will play 2 test matches on Friday 25 February at Otahuhu Rugby League Club, 2 test matches on Saturday 26 February at Cornwall Park and a finals test match on Sunday 27 February at North Harbour Stadium. (Draw Attached)

There will be a welcoming Powhiri for the Tag Series for our overseas visitors on Friday 25 Feburary at Otahuhu Rugby League Club (Bert Henham Park) at 9.00am.

The Warriors v NZ Presidents Selection warm up game will take place at North Harbour Stadium on Sunday 27 Feburary and will feature 2 curtain raiser matches when North Harbour Tigers and Hibiscus Coast Raiders Bartercard Cup teams go head to head in a pre-season match at 1.30pm and just prior to the main game will be one of the NZ vs Australia Tag Finals kicking off at 3.00pm.

NZ Presidents Selection will play against the Warriors in what should be a very exciting encounter and one that the Warriors see as a very important match with NRL starting in little over 2 weeks. Four of the Warriors top squad will play for the Presidents team including fullback Toshio Laiseni,Winger Rowan Baxter, Winger Cooper Vuna and Simon Mannering who will play in the centres for the match although plays much of his Rugby League in the back row. The Presidents team will also see the inclusion of ex-Warrior players Ben Lythe and Odell Manuel.

The match kicks off at 4.00pm. Squads are as follows:


Toshia Laiseni (Otahuhu Ellerslie) Cooper Vuna (Otahuhu Ellerslie) Simon Mannering (Wellington) Joshua Davis (Wellington / Parramatta) Rowan Baxter (Mt Albert Lions) Daniel Vasau (North Harbour Tigers) Bernard Perenara (Marist Richmond Brothers) George Tuakura (Counties Manukau Jetz) Ben Lythe (Hibiscus Coast Raiders) Phil Shead (Mt Albert Lions) Odell Manuel (Hibiscus Coast Raiders) Chris Newton (Canterbury Bulls) Wayne McDade (North Sydney) Interchange: Paul Atkins (Otahuhu Ellerslie) Andreas Bauer (Mt Albert Lions) Marvin Filipo (Mangere East) Robinson Godfrey (Mt Albert Lions) Pinomi Tafea (Counties Manukau Jetz) Willie Live (Central Falcons) Artie Shead (Toulouse) Sam Rapira (Waicoa Bay Stallions) Chris Tupou (North Harbour Tigers) Dean Shepherd (Glenora Bears) Antonio Tusani (Counties Manukau Jetz)

Coaches: John Ackland / Tawera Nikau

Tickets can be purchased at the gate, $10.00 - Adult, Kids 12 and under FREE.