NZ\'s Bartercard Cup set to kick-off

New Zealand's premier rugby league competition, kicks off this weekend with the same ten teams competing from the 2006 year.

With an Auckland Lions side now competing in the NSWRL Competition, things seem a bit more even for the rest of the Auckland clubs. A Lions side is still entered in this year's Bartercard Cup competition, however the more prominent players are obviously used for the Premier League side.

Teams in this year's Bartercard Cup competition are:

Auckland Lions Canterbury Bulls Central Falcons Counties Manukau Jets Harbour League Northern Storm Tamaki Leopards Waicoa Bay Stallions Waitakere Rangers Wellington Orcas

All Round 1 games are to be played on Saturday 14th April, all with a 2.30pm kick-off.

Last year's runner-up Canterbury Bulls, under new coach, former New Zealand Kiwi prop Brent Stuart head north to Auckland to face the Waitakere Rangers at Mt Smart.

Other teams to travel away include Harbour League heading down to Manawatu to take on the Falcons, the Stallions heading north to take on Northern Storm in Whangarei, and the Tamaki boys down to Wellington. Leaving last year's champions, Auckland Lions to host the Jets.

Round 1:

Sat 14/Apr Central Falcons vs Harbour League Fitzherbert Park 2:30pm

Sat 14/Apr Northern Storm vs Waicoa Bay Stallions ITM Stadium, Whangarei 2:30 pm

Sat 14/Apr Waitakere Rangers vs Canterbury Bulls Mt Smart Stadium (Number 2) 2:30pm

Sat 14/Apr Wellington Orcas vs Tamaki Titans Porirua Stadium, Wellington 2:30pm

Sat 14/Apr Auckland Lions vs Counties Manukau Jets TBA