NZRL Awards Night - November 21st

The New Zealand Rugby League?s Lion Foundation Awards evening is back in 2003 due to a commitment from major partner the Lion Foundation after a successful debut.

During the past season rugby league has seen many milestones achieved. The Otago Rugby League 50th Anniversary, completion of the Lion Foundation National Junior Competition and most notably the 100th test match between the Lion Red Kiwis and Kangaroos to name but a few.

On Friday 21st November these successes, and more, from 2003 will be honored at Auckland?s Hyatt Regency.

The unique outdoor alfresco terrace will be utilised for pre-function cocktails, the Hyatt ballroom is Auckland's newest and largest capacity ballroom to hold the function formalities.

"Hyatt Regency Auckland is delighted to be hosting the New Zealand Rugby League Awards in its recently renovated and refurbished ballroom", says Uli Hoppe, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Auckland.

"We are proud to support an event that not only recognises the achievements of the New Zealand rugby league fraternity but one that also will provide support to Kidz First - a very worthwhile New Zealand children's charity".

Our very own ambassador, Peter Leitch, has made it possible for the public to have their say via a nomination opportunity to see who will become the Mad Butcher Personality of the Year.

?I really hope people take the time to put in a vote for the favourite personality because the game needs personalities, for instance Bill Whitehead in Christchurch comes to mind?, says Peter.

Voting for the Mad Butcher Personality of the Year can happen via e-mail to [email protected], fax on (09)525-5596 or simply visit

A limited number of tables will be available to purchase which can be secured by contacting the NZRL on (09) 525-5592, e-mail [email protected], visiting or filling out the attached form.

Bartercard Cup awards to be presented: Player of the Year, Coach of the Year and the Best & Fairest Award for the Bartercard Cup

NZRL Awards to be presented: Lion Red Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Crown Lift Trucks Referee of the Year & the Mad Butcher Personality of the Year

2002 Bartercard Cup recipients: Player of the Year (Lee Finnerty ? Mt Albert), Coach of the Year (John Ackland) and Best & Fairest Player (Hutch Maiava)

2002 NZRL recipients: Lion Red Player of the Year (Stacey Jones), Bartercard Rookie of the Year (Lance Hohaia), Mad Butcher Personality of the Year (Stacey Jones) & Crown Lift Trucks Referee of the Year (Bill Shrimpton)