Officials Named For Telstra Grand

Bill Harrigan will referee Sunday night's National Rugby League grand final between the Sydney Roosters and Penrith at Telstra Stadium.

Harrigan was appointed on Monday to his seventh straight grand final, breaking Darcy Lawler's all-time mark of six consecutive premiership deciders from 1956-1961.

"It is a remarkable achievement and Bill is to be thoroughly congratulated," referees' coach Robert Finch said.

"Tim Mander certainly kept the pressure on throughout the finals and has also performed extremely well.

"Bill's form in big matches together with his experience did however give him the edge.

"To have a guy who is so committed after this long at the top is quite incredible and in this, the Year of the Official, I hope people take time to appreciate just what he has accomplished."

Mander will be the standby referee on Sunday night.

Touch judges are Glynn Henderson and Steve Carrall, while Phil Cooley and Steve Clark will be in the video referees' box.

The National Rugby League grand final is a sell-out following a massive rush on tickets on Monday morning.

It took just an hour for 10,000 of the 13,000 remaining tickets for Sunday's clash at Telstra Stadium to be snapped up.

"It's a fantastic finale to what's been a memorable season," NRL chief executive David Gallop said.

"Both teams should be congratulated for the way in which they have performed this year and so too should their fans for the loyalty they have shown."

Fans attending the match can use their grand final ticket to access free public transport to and from the ground.