Paul Rauhihi - Cowboy Of The Year

Paul Rauhihi took out the Toyota Cowboys top award of Townsville Bulletin North Queensland Toyota Cowboy of the Year 2003 at the North Queensland Toyota Cowboys annual presentation ball on Friday evening. It was then time to party as the club celebrated it finest season yet.

Toyota Cowboys international winger Matt Sing took out the Members Players of the Year and Players Player awards after a record breaking season smashing the clubs try scoring record for the second year in a row.

The Townsville Bulletin NQ Toyota Cowboy of the Year honour was decided on a points system given by the Cowboys Coaching staff throughout the year with the top three players from each game being allocated points on a 3-2-1 basis.

Mr. Jason Scott General Manager of North Queensland Newspapers presented the major award, which includes a specially struck Medal (introduced for the first time) and $5,000 to spend at the Troy Williams the Good Guys Store in Townsville.

The gala evening held at the Jupiter?s Hotel and Casino Ballroom was hosted by Media identity Ewen Jones and attended by 400 invited guests, sponsors, members of the public and players. The Premier of Queensland Peter Beattie attended and presented the awards of Clubman of the Year to Ty Williams.

Award winners were:

? Members Player of the Year ? Matt Sing ? Townsville Bulletin Most Improved North Queenslander ? Josh Hannay ? Clubman of the Year ? Ty Williams ? Rookie of the Year ? Brenton Bowen ? Queensland Cup Player of the Year ? Paul Dezolt ? Players? Player of the Year ? Matt Sing ? Cowboy of the Year ? Paul Rauhihi

Special presentations were also made to Toyota Cowboys Paul Bowman, Matt Bowen, Josh Hannay and Matt Sing for their Queensland Origin selection. Rauhihi and Sing were also honoured for representing New Zealand and Australia in the mid-season Test Match. Retiring NQ Toyota Cowboys front rower John Buttigieg was also honoured with a special presentation for his contribution to the club.