Peacock Scoops Top ESL Award

Bradford Bulls second rower Jamie Peacock has been named as the 2003 Tetley's Rugby Super League Man of Steel, and was also named as the Players' Player of the Year on Monday night. The Great Britain international has had a superb season, and had already taken three titles at Bradford's Player of the Year awards and the Rugby League Writers' Association's Player of the Year.

At the prestigious Man of Steel awards night in Manchester on Monday, Peacock scooped the leading individual prize in Super League, which is awarded to the player judged to have made the biggest all-round impact during a season.

The Man of Steel title - which had been won for the last two years by St Helens' Paul Sculthorpe - is judged for by a select panel of national Rugby League broadcasters and journalists.

Peacock was presented with a specially designed trophy and a cheque for ?5,000 at the climax of the awards ceremony - which is held each year during the week leading up to the Grand Final.

The 25-year-old was also named as the GMB/Rugby League Players Association Players' Player of the Year, which was decided by a ballot of first team squad members at every Super League club.

For that, he received a specially designed trophy and a cheque for ?1,000, which was also presented to the other award winners.

His Bulls coach Brian Noble was named as the Coach of the Year, while Wigan's Gareth Hock took the Young Player of the Year award after breaking into their side this season.

Warrington whistler Karl Kirkpatrick was named as the Powergen Referee of the Year, while three special awards were made to outstanding individual performers.

London's Dennis Moran, who touched down 24 times during the regular season, took the Top Try Scorer award for the second successive season.

Bradford winger Lesley Vainikolo was the Opta Index Metre Maker 2003, having gained 3677 metres during the regular season, and 856-tackle Widnes hooker Shane Millard was the Opta Index Hit Man.

The full award winners were: Tetley's Rugby Super League Man of Steel Jamie Peacock (Bradford Bulls) Tetley's Rugby Super League Coach of the Year Brian Noble (Bradford Bulls) Nominations: Paul Cullen (Warrington Wolves), Tony Rea (London Broncos). The panel also felt the need to add a fourth nomination to this category, which goes to Wigan Warriors' Mike Gregory. Powergen Young Player of the Year Gareth Hock (Wigan Warriors) Nominations: Danny McGuire (Leeds Rhinos), Luke Robinson (Wigan Warriors) GMB/RLPA Players' Player of the Year Jamie Peacock (Bradford Bulls) Nominations: Shane Millard (Widnes Vikings), Brandon Costin (Huddersfield Giants) Powergen Referee of the Year Karl Kirkpatrick Nominations: Steve Ganson, Russel Smith Top Try Scorer Dennis Moran (London Broncos) Opta Index Hit Man 2003 Shane Millard (Widnes Vikings) Opta Index Metre Maker 2003 Lesley Vainikolo (Bradford Bulls)