Luke Ricketson has been named as captain of the Prime Minister's XIII to play Papua New Guinea in their rugby league match at Port Moresby on September 18.

The Sydney Roosters lock, who retired from the NRL last Sunday, is one of six Roosters players selected for the invitational match. Bulldogs five-eighth Braith Anasta and Penrith hooker Luke Priddis, who were both omitted from the Kangaroos train-on squad, were both selected for the PNG fixture.

The Australian team will be coached by Mal Meninga.

Clinton Schifcofske (Canberra) Amos Roberts (Roosters) Ryan Cross (Roosters) Reni Maitua (Bulldogs) Shannon Hegarty (South Sydney) Braith Anasta (Bulldogs) Brett Finch (Roosters) Ben Ross (Penrith) Luke Priddis (Penrith) Steve Price (New Zealand Warriors) Luke Ricketson (Roosters, capt) Clint Newton (Newcastle) Ashley Harrison (South Sydney)

Interchange: Kurt Gidley (Newcastle), John Sutton (South Sydney), Chris Flannery (Roosters), Anthony Tupou (Roosters).