Powergen Challenge Cup Final Review


St Helens 42 (Wilkin 2, Cayless, Talau, Long, Fa'asavalu, Lyon tries; Lyon 7 goals) def. Huddersfield Giants 12 (Paul, Aspinwall tries; De Vere 2 goals). Att: 65,137.

St Helens won the Powergen Challenge Cup for a tenth time with a one sided seven-try victory over the Huddersfield Giants at Twickenham.

The Giants took the shock lead early on when Martin Aspinwall went over. The Saints finally got on the scoreboard on twenty minutes through Willie Talau and then took the lead just before the break when Sean Long went over. Jamie Lyon converted for a 12-6 lead.

The second half became one-way traffic as St Helens moved through the gears; they ran in five converted tries with Jon Wilkin bagging a brace. Huddersfield did mange a consolation from Robbie Paul.

Sean Long was named Lance Todd Trophy winner for a record third time, Jamie Lyon?s perfect kicking gave him a haul of eighteen points as the Saints collected their fifth Challenge Cup trophy in the Super League era.

Huddersfield: Reilly, Aspinwall, Nero, De Vere, Donlan, Thorman, Paul, Jackson, Drew, Gannon, Crabtree, Raleigh, Wild.
Replacements: Snitch, Jones, Smith, McDonald.

St Helens: Wellens, Gardner, Lyon, Talau, Meli, Pryce, Long, P. Anderson, Cunningham, Cayless, Wilkin, Sculthorpe, Hooper.
Replacements: Gilmour, Roby, Graham, Fa'asavalu.

Referee: R Silverwood (Dewsbury).