Qld Cup 10 Year Team

CAN you name the 17 players, coach and referee who have best defined the quality and character of the Queensland Wizard Cup? Back yourself and you could win an exclusive package of State of Origin merchandise.

To celebrate the first decade of competition under the modern format, a Queensland Cup 10 Year Team is set to be announced at this year?s September 17 grand final at Suncorp Stadium.

The chosen side will be representative of the period from the Cup?s inception in 1996 to the end of the current 2005 season.

Importantly, selectors will consider contributions for all teams that have participated in the Queensland Wizard Cup, not just existing clubs.

The basic criteria for selection is:

?Those who have best contributed to the standard, spirit and memory of the first 10 years of the Queensland Wizard Cup competition. While on-field performance is given heavy consideration, value to the club and to the league shall supersede career accomplishments.?

In keeping with this statement, certain representative stars will not be considered due to their relatively brief time in the Queensland Wizard Cup. However other NRL players - past and present - are sure to feature in the announced team, having given significant service to the State League.

Remember that modern Rugby League is truly a 17-man game, so be sure to list your starting team in correct positions plus a full interchange bench. A defining coach and referee of the competition should also be selected.

The official team will be reached by a panel consisting of Allan Smith (QRL selector), Bill Nunn (QRL selector), Steve Ricketts (The Courier-Mail), Warren Boland (ABC TV) and Robert Rachow (QRL media).

Entries may be made by emailing [email protected] or sending your team to:

QUEENSLAND CUP 10 YEAR TEAM Queensland Rugby League PO Box 434 Stones Corner Q 4120

Closing date for the competition is 5pm, September 15, 2005.


A SAMPLE of nominees is listed below. Players may be considered in a number of positions:

BACKS Jim Ahmat Aaron Barba Jason Barsley Steve Bell Greg Bourke Jason Bulgarelli Reggie Cressbrook Aaron Douglas Tony Duggan Heath Egglestone Floyd Hill Brian Jellick Aseri Laing Trent Leis Matt Lockyer David Maiden Scott Minto Adam Mogg Damien Quinn Damien Richters Scott Schultz David Seage Phil Shilvock Shaun Valentine Kyle Warren Jason Webber John Wilshere George Wilson

HALVES & HOOKERS Grant Adamson Ricky Bird Craig Bowen Kevin Carmichael Eddie Fallins Nathan Friend George Gatis Ryan Gundry Adam Hayden Brendon Lindsay Scott Maguire Craig O?Dwyer Shane Perry Michael Roberts Peter Robinson Robbie Schmidt Royce Simms Scott Thorburn Jason Twist Jace Van Dijk

FORWARDS Matt Bickerstaff Ali Brown Sime Busby Robert Campbell Grant Cleal Danny Coburn Graham Cotter Jeff Doyle Chris Essex Tony Gould Ian Graham Andrew Hamilton James Hinchey Russell Lahiff Troy Lindsay Matt Lockyer Scott Maguire Clayton Maher Danny McAllister Brian McCarthy Scott Neilson Shane O?Flanagan Don Saunders Luke Scott Mark Sessarago Adam Starr Ricky Taylor Shane Tronc Shaun Valentine Kyle Warren Alan Wieland Neale Wyatt

COACHES John Boxsell Mark Murray Rick Stone Wayne Treleaven Neil Wharton

REFEREES Rob Alexander Stu Berndt Tony Maksoud Adam Neale Paul Oliver