QRL Outback Challenge

YOU don't get more tribal than this! In one of the first big games at this weekend's Festival of Football the QRL Outback team goes up against the best of the Brisbane Second Division.

An annual fixture which gives a representative opportunity to those who often prefer to focus on work, family or study, the Outback v Second Div game kicks off at 12.15pm this Saturday, June 23 at BMD Kougari Oval.

Outback won last year's encounter in Cloncurry by the tune of 50-32.

Among those listed in the Outback team is backrower David Booth of Doomadgee. Booth travelled a 48-hour round trip to the Outback Carnival in Charleville to be viewed by selectors.

Centre Gene Murray - Best and Fairest at the Outback Carnival - comes from 'nearby' Normanton.

Brisbane Second Division fullback Russell Lockyer is the youngest brother of Australian captain Darren.

QRL FESTIVAL OF FOOTY BMD Kougari Oval Wondall Rd, Manly West

Saturday June 23

10.45am - Wynnum Manly v Redcliffe (Colts) 12.15pm - QRL Outback v Brisbane Second Div. 2.00pm - XXXX City v XXXX Country 4.00pm - Northern Marlins v South East QLD Poinsettias 5.30pm - Wide Bay Bulls v Central Capras 7.00pm - South East QLD Kookaburras v South West Mustangs

Sunday June 24

9.00am - Grassroots Junior Clinic 11.30am - Central Capras v South West Mustangs 1.00pm - Wide Bay Bulls v Northern Marlins 2.30pm - South East QLD Poinsettias v South East QLD Kookaburras


1. Russell LOCKYER Carina 2. Aaron BROWN Wynnum Manly Jnrs 3. Francis OTTO Carina 4. Scott TRAPETT Dayboro 5. Marvin FILIPO Wynnum Manly Jnrs 6. Aaron WILLIAMS Pine Rivers 7. Luke BELL Wynnum Manly 8. Nick KNIJFF Wynnum Manly Jnrs 9. Robert VERNON Sandgate Brighton 10. Bo McILWAIN Redlands 11. Adam HEATHWOOD Dayboro 12. Josef McLEAN Wynnum Manly Jnrs 13. Mitchell KARABATSOS Redlands 14. Todd WILSON Wynnum Manly Jnrs 15. Tony MATHER Wests Inala 16. Daniel GISSING Banyo 17. Jamie PATERSON Sandgate Brighton

Coach: Glen OSWALD


1. David HUDSON Cloncurry 2. Joel MANN Winton 3. Gene MURRAY Normanton 4. Chris THINEE Mount Isa 5. Brian BURGESS Charleville 6. Anton SALTMERE Mount Isa 7. Trent HOAD Ilfracombe 8. Graham MALONEY Barcaldine 9. Trevor BAKER Charleville 10. Dean MALONEY Barcaldine 11. David BOOTH Doomadgee 12. Clinton CALLOPE Mount Isa 13. Daryl ADCOCK Charleville 14. Andrew GOODMAN Barcaldine 15. Robert HERBERT Mount Isa 16. Patrick CARNEY Mount Isa 17. Kane COSTELLO Dajarra