Queensland team for State of Origin I

NEVILLE COSTIGAN is primed to become the 162nd man to enter Queensland State of Origin folklore, named to make his XXXX Maroons debut next Wednesday at Suncorp Stadium. Includes full XXXX Maroons team.

Costigan was the only new face when QRL Chairman John McDonald and Chairman of Selectors Des Morris announced the team for the opening game of this year's Harvey Norman State of Origin series in Brisbane.

The XXXX Maroons team, captained for the 11th time by Darren Lockyer, will enter camp immediately, spending the bulk of time between Enoggera Army Barracks, Toowoomba and the Gold Coast.

The head-to-head record in State of Origin matches presently stands at 38 wins to Queensland, 37 losses and two draws.Queensland holds the Origin shield after last year's dramatic 16-14 win in the third and deciding game, sealed by a freakish try to Lockyer.

Still boasting the record for the most appearances for his country, the iconic figure of Mal Meninga will again take the reins as head coach of the XXXX Maroons.

The full squad, pending medicals, is listed below.

XXXX QUEENSLAND MAROONS v New South Wales 'Wizard' Blues Suncorp Stadium May 23, 2007

1. Karmichael HUNT (Brisbane Broncos) 2. Brent TATE (Brisbane Broncos) 3. Steven BELL (Manly Sea Eagles) 4. Justin HODGES (Brisbane Broncos) 5. Greg INGLIS (Melbourne Storm) 6. Darren LOCKYER (c) (Brisbane Broncos) 7. Johnathan THURSTON (North QLD Cowboys) 8. Steve PRICE (New Zealand Warriors) 9. Cameron SMITH (Melbourne Storm) 10. Petero CIVONICEVA (Brisbane Broncos) 11. Tonie CARROLL (Brisbane Broncos) 12. Carl WEBB (North QLD Cowboys) 13. Dallas JOHNSON (Melbourne Storm)

14. Shaun BERRIGAN (Brisbane Broncos) 15. Jacob LILLYMAN (North QLD Cowboys) 16. Nate MYLES (Sydney Roosters) 17. Neville COSTIGAN (Canberra Raiders)