Queensland Team of the Century named

The Queensland Team of the Century was unveiled last night at the Brisbane Exhibition and Convention Centre in front of more than 1700 enthusiastic guests.

All five Queenslanders in the Australian Team of the Century - Arthur Beetson, Wally Lewis, Mal Meninga, Noel Kelly and Duncan Hall - made the Queensland team.

The star-studded side included seven State of Origin players.

Six players - Cecil Aynsley, Tom Gorman, Mick Madsen, Jimmy Craig, Duncan Thompson and Herb Steinohrt - played in the 1920s, an era often referred to as the golden age of Queensland Rugby League.

Wally Lewis was named captain, with Wayne Bennett the coach.

Queensland Team of the Century

1. Darren LOCKYER 2. Cecil AYNSLEY 3. Tom GORMAN 4. Mal MENINGA 5. Denis FLANNERY 6. Wally LEWIS