Queensland Under 16 Team Announced

Monday, 9 May - 2011

FIVE players who took part in last Saturday's Cyril Connell Cup grand final at Langlands Park were today named in the Queensland Under 16 team.

Duncan Paiaaua, Harry Pondekas and Jarrod Earle from the Central Comets and Brendan McBryde and Eric Blair from the victorious Easts Tigers were selected in the team to take on the NSW Under 16 side.

The match will be played before Game 1 of the Harvey Norman State of Origin series at Suncorp Stadium on May 25.

The Queensland team includes talented winger Ryan Mitchell, who has the added honour of being the first player selected for higher representative honours from the Central Division side that contested the Cyril Connell Cup for the first time this year.

The Queensland side will assemble at Robertson Gardens on Friday, May 20 at 10am.

Queensland Under 16 Team

1. Paul Byrnes                         Townsville Stingers
2. Ryan Mitchell                     Central United
3. Josh Birch                           Norths Devils
4. Brenko Lee                         Souths Logan
5. Shaun Hudson                    Gold Coast Green
6. Nathan Wilson                    Gold Coast Green
7. Duncan Paiaaua                  Central Comets
8. James Iodice                       Gold Coast Green
9. Jayden Berrell                     Gold Coast Gold
10. Sam Gee                            Gold Coast Green
11. Luke Bateman                   Souths Logan
12. Harry Pondekas                Central Comets
13. Jai Arrow                          Gold Coast Gold
14. Tyson Cleal                       Redcliffe Dolphins
15. Jarrod Earle                       Central Comets
16. Brendan McBryde            Easts Tigers
17. Eric Blair                           Easts Tigers


Coach: Scott Dunshea
Manager: Tony Dixon