Rabbitohs announce teams for Sharks

The Real Rabbitohs are pleased to announce its team to play the Cronulla Sutherland Sharks in Round 18 of the 2005 Telstra Premiership this Saturday, July 9, kicking off at 5:30pm at Aussie Stadium.

Yileen Gordon returns to the first grade side this weekend, in a reshuffled backline, to replace fullback Todd Polglase. Luke MacDougall will take the number one jersey with Shannon Hegarty moving to the wing and Gordon taking his spot in the centres. Shane Walker will start at hooker with Scott Logan returning to the side at prop. Ashley Harrison will captain the side at lock. Beau Champion will make his NRL debut this weekend from the interchange bench.

Champion, 18, stands 186cm tall and weighs in at 82kg and is comfortable playing anywhere in the backline. Champion, a South Sydney junior originally from the South Eastern Club, was awarded the 2004 Arrive alive Cup player of the year whilst playing with Endeavour Sports High School last year. Champion has graduated through the junior representative sides at the Rabbitohs to make his debut in the top grade this weekend.

South Sydney Juniors will play the Sharks in Jersey Flegg and the Newtown-Cronulla Jets in Premier League this Saturday. Premier League will commence at 3:30pm at Aussie Stadium and Jersey Flegg will kick off at 1:30pm at Redfern Oval. Gates open at Aussie Stadium at 3:15pm.

The referee for the NRL game is Shayne Hayne.

The Real Rabbitohs NRL side is:

1) Luke MacDougall 2) Brad Watts 3) Adam MacDougall 4) Yileen Gordon 5) Shannon Hegarty 6) John Sutton 7) Mick Moran 8) Peter Cusack 9) Shane Walker 10) Scott Logan 11) David Fa?alogo 12) Luke Stuart 13) Ashley Harrison ?


14) Mark Minichiello 15) Scott Geddes 16) Beau Champion 17) Manase Manuokafoa