Rabbitohs Outlast Physical Warriors

The South Sydney Rabbitohs have outlasted the New Zealand Warriors tonight, to run out winners 30-13. It continued the run of wins for the Rabbitohs in Perth, as 20221 fans turned out at NIB Stadium to watch the physical encounter.

The Rabbitohs started strongly, and despite some heavy contact on Greg Inglis in the opening minute, were well in control for the first quarter of the game. Some soccer skills early in the game saw Andrew Everingham dive over to score in the 4th minute - with Adam Reynolds adding the extras.

But the Warriors got themselves back in the game, muscling up to the physical Rabbitohs pack. Tries to Simon Mannering and Konrad Hurrell, and a late field goal in the first half, saw the Warriors head to the break leading 13-6. Hurrell's try was particularly impressive, as he powered over the top of Bryson Goodwin, Sam Burgess and Greg Inglis on his way to the line.

The early part of the second half was much of the same - two physical sides smashing into each other - with play swinging from end to end. In the 50th minute John Sutton scored after a long video referee adjudication - to put his side back within a point.

But in the end, the Rabbitohs simply played for the full 80 minutes, while the Warriors seemed to switch off after 70. Bryson Goodwin was the main beneficiary of some lapses in the New Zealand defense, scoring two late tries to seal the win for his side.

Match Details
South Sydney Rabbitohs 30 New Zealand Warriors 13
Venue: NIB Perth Oval
Crowd: 20221
Halftime Score: New Zealand Warriors 13-6

LeagueUnlimited.com Players of the Match:
3 points - Bryson Goodwin
2 points - John Sutton
1 point - Greg Inglis

Tries: Andrew Everingham, John Sutton, Bryson Goodwin (2), Chris McQueen
Field Goals:
Conversions: Adam Reynolds (5/5)
Penalty Goals:

Tries: Simon Mannering, Konrad Hurrell
Field Goals: Shaun Johnson (1/1)
Conversions: Shaun Johnson (2/2)
Penalty Goals:

LeagueUnlimited.com Live Commentary

1. Greg Inglis 2. Nathan Merritt 3. Bryson Goodwin 4. Dylan Walker 5. Andrew Everingham 6. John Sutton 7. Adam Reynolds 8. Dave Tyrrell 9. Issac Luke 10. Roy Asotasi 11. Chris McQueen 12. Ben Te