Raiders fans name Tongue 2007 champion

Canberra Raiders Fans have chosen inspirational skipper Alan Tongue as their best and fairest player for 2007, presenting him with his second Canberra Raiders fans choice player of the year award last week. It's the second year in a row Tongue claimed the honour of the fans best, after taking out the award in 2006. The award is determined through an online voting system through, where fans submit their 3-2-1 votes each week based on the Raiders performances. These votes are then tallied by site administrators, with the top vote getter each week receiving three points for the award, while the second and third vote getters get two and one points respectively. In a very close competition Tongue finished on top of the leader board with 19 points, just one point above five-eighth Todd Carney on 18 points and two points above Raiders Player of the Year Scott Logan who finished with 17 points. In a strong indication of the awards merit the final standings where almost identical to the Raiders Dally M votes in season 2007, with only Tongue and Carney's positions reversed in the Raiders top five vote getters for the season. Raiders Captain and Fans choice winner Alan Tongue said it was a great honour to go back to back with the award, and thanked the fans for their support in 2007. "To win this award again is a huge thrill for me as it's determined by the people that count the most, the fans," Tongue said. "The Raiders fan base proved this year that they're as strong as ever and hopefully this continues in 2008." Spokesman for the award Marko Milinkovic said the 'fans choice' is a great way to show the Raiders that the fans support the club, and it also represented a wide cross section of Green Machine faithful. "The Raiders have always had a very strong and loyal supporter base in the NRL and having our own award to present is a brilliant way to show some of the support this great club really has," Milinkovic said. "The best aspect of this award is that it is voted for by a wide range of fans, from the Raiders Army Lads in Bay 72, right through to Raiders fans based in the UK." Canberra Raiders Fans Choice Player of the Year 19 pts - Alan Tongue (winner) 18 pts - Todd Carney 17 pts - Scott Logan 12 pts - Michael Dobson 9 pts - Terry Campese