Redcliffe vs Norths Preview

A GRAND stage has been set for Redcliffe warrior Troy Lindsay to become the first player in Queensland Wizard Cup history to register 200 games.

Lindsay?s milestone appearance will come in a live telecast, with the Dolphins needing a win to secure an elimination final at home against Toowoomba. Lindsay has received a phenomenal run of Players? Player awards in the last two months and looks primed to celebrate the special occasion in style.

The task of facing Norths is no easy one however, as the red-hot Devils are coming off eight wins in a row. Norths is also looking to win all three grades to secure its first Spotless Club Championship since 1974. A loss for them in any grade could potentially hand the coveted award to Burleigh.

While Redcliffe fights to protect fourth spot, Norths has an outside chance at the minor premiership, provided North Queensland and Burleigh lose matches in the final round. Although not named, Greg Inglis is also a chance of being crowned the Cup?s leading tryscorer of 2005. He currently has 17 tries to Simon Phillips? 18.

Injuries have claimed key forwards from both clubs. Redcliffe prop Adam Starr has a fractured eye socket, while regular Norths skipper Anthony Boyd has ankle woes. Dolphins centre Nick Emmett has been charged with a grade one dangerous throw, but will escape suspension with an early plea.

Leading contenders for the Qantas Player of the Year Award from Redcliffe are fullback Ryan Cullen and half Shane Perry. Also hoping to have their name read out on grand final day are Norths utility Inglis and hooker Nathan Friend.

Brett Suttor has been named referee for this vital clash.

REDCLIFFE: Ryan Cullen, Phil Shilvock, Greg Bourke, Nick Emmett, Liam Georgetown, Jamie Russo, Shane Perry ?, Nick Walker, Mick Roberts, Troy Lindsay, Grant Flugge, Danny Burke, Danny Green. Interchange: Wayne Bond, Shannon Fish, Matt Mapes, Damien Jentz.

NORTHS: Smith Samau, Josh Tatupu, Josh Graham, Ryan Shortland, Aaron Morgan, Brandon Costin, Marc Brentnall, Pat Gardner, Nathan Friend, Scott Anderson, Aaron Bulow, Peter Robinson, Jeremy Smith. Interchange: Col Wilkie, Adam Blair, Rob Tanielu, Antonio Kaufusi.

This article is courtesy of the QRL for more Queensland Wizard Cup news visit