Referees for Think! Ashes Test

The refereeing appointments for the Think! Road Safety Test Series have been confirmed with Britain having an official for the first and third tests as an equaliser for Australia having Bill Harrigan for the second and third test matches in the 2001 Kangaroo Tour.

Steve Ganson will control of the first test at JJB Stadium in Wigan whilst Russell Smith takes control of what should be the very important third test and likely decider at McAlpine Stadium in Huddersfield. Australian referee Tim Mander will control the sold out second test at Hull's Kingston Communications Stadium.

Both Ganson and Smith regularly officiate in the Tetley's Rugby Super League whilst Mander in Australia's NRL Telstra Premiership.

This format for the appointment of match officials was previously agreed by the Rugby Football League and the Australian Rugby League.

The Think ! Road Safety Ashes Test Series is as follows: First Test - Great Britain v Australia, Saturday 8th November 2003 JJB Stadium, Wigan (ko 6.15pm) - Steve Ganson

Second Test - Great Britain v Australia, Saturday 15th November 2003 Kingston Communications Stadium, Hull (ko 6.15pm) - Tim Mander

Third Test - Great Britain v Australia, Saturday 22nd November 2003 McAlpine Stadium, Huddersfield (ko 6.15pm) - Russell Smith