• by NZRL
  • August 28 2011 9:16PM


Auckland, New Zealand - 28 August 2011 - The New Zealand Rugby League 2011 National Competition kicked off this Sunday with matches held at three venues across the country.  

The competition, played in three divisions 15s - who compete for the Nathan Cayless Cup, 17s - playing for the Mark Graham Trophy and Premiers, the Albert Baskerville Trophy, features teams from all seven NZRL Zones. The competition runs for seven weeks and is followed by finals matches to decide the winners of each trophy.


In Kaitaia the Northern Swords took on the Auckland Pride, with all three Auckland Pride teams the victors.

At Farndon Park in Clive, south of Napier, the Central Vipers played the Counties Manukau Stingrays and while the Counties Manukau 15s and 17s were victorious, the Central Vipers Premiers beat the Counties Manukau Stingrays 30 points to 16.


Finally at Denton Park in Hornby, Christchurch, the South Island Scorpions played the Wellington Orcas where the Orcas were the winners of the 15s and Premiers, while the Scorpions won the 17s.


Northern Swords 18 v Auckland Pride 82

Central Vipers 30 v Counties Manukau Stingrays 16

South Island Scorpions 20 v Wellington Orcas 32

Waicoa Bays - Bye



Northern Swords 12 v Auckland Pride 62

Central Vipers 0 v Counties Manukau Stingrays 42

South Island Scorpions 40 v Wellington Orcas 38

Waicoa Bays - Bye



Northern Swords 4 v Auckland Pride 38

Central Vipers 30 v Counties Manukau Stingrays 38

South Island Scorpions 22 v Wellington Orcas 32

Waicoa Bays - Bye

For more information about the competition and for detailed results please see our website National Competition page


Your Two Cents...

No one has commented on this page yet. Why not kick things off?