Ross, McFadden Out of Final Storm

Storm players Robbie Ross and Andrew McFadden will miss this Saturday?s trial match against the Newtown Jets at Henson Park (5pm) due to injury.

Ross aggravated a hamstring injury in the second half of last weekend?s ten-point loss to the Canberra Raiders in Wagga Wagga, while McFadden suffered a rib cartilage injury, also in the second term of last week?s match.

?Robbie injured his hamstring last weekend which has in turn has led to his back flaring up again,? Storm coach Craig Bellamy said at the club?s season launch today.

?He?s going to a specialist tomorrow and until he sees him we won?t know how long he?ll be out for.

?We?re not going to make too many predictions of doom and gloom or otherwise, until he actually sees the specialist and has the relevant tests.?

Ross played just five matches last year after undergoing back surgery for a bulging disc.

McFadden will also sit out this weekend?s match after failing to overcome the rib injury throughout week.

Aside from Ross and McFadden, Melbourne coach Craig Bellamy has named a full-strength side for the Newtown trial match ? the last before the Storm?s opening NRL match in round two against the Newcastle Knights (the Storm has the bye in round one).

Former Penrith backline player Steve Turner will get another chance to impress Bellamy, having returned from one match with Brisbane Norths last Saturday.

Similarly Dallas Johnson will be vying for selection in the Storm?s season opener, as he returns from a groin injury this weekend.

MELBOURNE STORM TEAM TO PLAY NEWTOWN JETS THIS SATURDAY AT HENSON PARK, SYDNEY AT 5.00PM: 1. Billy Slater 2. Matt Geyer 3. Matt King 4. Ben MacDougall 5. Fifita Moala 6. Scott Hill 7. Matt Orford 8. Robbie Kearns 9. Cameron Smith 10 Alex Chan 11. Peter Robinson 12. Stephen Kearney 13. David Kidwell Bench

14. Kirk Reynoldson 15. Danny Williams 16 Glen Turner 17. Antonio Kaufusi 18. Rodney Howe 19. Steve Turner 20. Dallas Johnson

Meanwhile Melbourne today announced its 29-man squad to take on the Telstra Premiership, at the club?s season launch at Breezes restaurant at Crown Towers.


Steven Bell Alex Chan Dustin Cooper Luke Dyer Sione Finefeuiaki Nathan Friend Matt Geyer Scott Hill Ryan Hoffman Rodney Howe Dallas Johnson Antonio Kaufusi Stephen Kearney Robbie Kearns David Kidwell Matt King Ben MacDougall Andrew McFadden Fifita Moala Matt Orford Kirk Reynoldson Peter Robinson Robbie Ross Billy Slater Cameron Smith Robert Tanielu Glen Turner Steve Turner Danny Williams