Round 15 - NRL Wrap

The footy weekend started off with Penrith crushing the Knights. It was a super effort from the Panthers who had to contend with a media focussing on Newcastle's apparent lack of star players. Nevertheless, the best player was one P Campbell and hey presto! Look who's closing in on the Player Of The Year leader board! But it's hard not to feel something for the Knights who just can't seem to perform well without Andrew Johns. After being thrashed on Friday, the question is being asked, will Joey do a Freddy and retire from rep footy? The Blue's loss could be the Novacastrian's gain.

Saturday opened with the Sharks being thrashed by a resurgent Manly side at Brookvale. Later that night, the Eels pulled off their second come-from-behind victory in as many weeks when they overcame the Cowboys at Parramatta. The Eels took the lead for the first time in the 79th minute and you say fom that point, they never looked back.

The other Saturday night match belonged to the Dragons who despatched the Rabbitohs at a windy WIN Stadium. Nathan Blacklock continung his comeback with a hat trick.

Sunday football saw the Warriors walk away with two points after they defeated Canberra at Ericsson. Once competition leaders, the Raiders slip back into second place while the Warriors have picked up a much needed win.

Next cab off the rank was the boilover of the round when West Tigers clobbered the Roosters at Campbelltown. The Tigers have a habit of delivering upsets and have shown again that there's still plenty of passion in a Tigpies jersey.

The final match of the round saw Canterbury wear down the Storm and come away with a hard fought victory at Olympic Park. The Bulldogs scoring with just 12 men on the field and then running away with it in the last 20 minutes.

Next week (round 16, 25-29 June): NSW v Qld at Telstra* Broncos v Roosters at Lang Park Cowboys v Sharks in Townsville Storm v Tigers at Olympic Manly v St George at Brookvale Knights v Parra in Newcastle Souths v Warriors at Aussie Panthers v Bulldogs in Penrith Raiders: Bye *Mondays Expert match of the round

Round 15 results at a glance home team listed first

PANTHERS 34 Tries: Lewis, Rooney 2, Priddis 2, Campbell, Whatuira Goals: Campbell (3/7) defeated KNIGHTS 6 Tries: K Gidley Goals: Abraham (1/1) Friday 20 June 2003 7:30 PM Penrith Football Stadium Referee: Stephen Clark Crowd: 18,744 players of the match: 3 - C Gower (Panthers) 2 - P Campbell (Panthers) 1 - L Priddis (Panthers)

SEA EAGLES 36 Tries: Dorn, Menzies, Hopoate, Watmough, King, Donald Goals: Walker 4/5, Williamson 2/2 defeated SHARKS 18 Tries: Bird, Emelio, Sullivan Goals: Anderson 3/3 Saturday 21 June 2003 5:30 PM Brookvale Oval Referee: Tim Mander Crowd: 7,931 players of the match: 3 - B Walker (Sea Eagles) 2 - L Dorn (Sea Eagles) 1 - D Peachey (Sharks)

EELS 24 Tries: Widders, Graham, Hodgson, Veaeliki Goals: Hodgson 2/2, Witt 2/2 defeated COWBOYS 22 Tries: Sweeney, Sheppard, Morrison, Morgan. Goals: Hannay 3/5 Saturday 21 June 2003 7:30 PM Parramatta Stadium Referee: Rod Lawrence Crowd: 9,027 players of the match: 3 - N Hindmarsh (Eels) 2 - J Morris (Eels) 1 - K Campion (Cowboys)

DRAGONS 34 Tries: Blacklock 3, Simmons, Firman, Thompson Goals: Firman 2/2, Riddell 3/5 defeated RABBITOHS 20 Tries: Merritt, Minichiello, Smith, Hookey Goals: Smith 2/3, Craigie 0/1 Saturday 21 June 2003 7:30 PM WIN Stadium Referee: Sean Hampstead Crowd: 10,220 LeagueUnlimited's Player of the Year Awards: 3 - B Firman (Dragons) 2 - L Thompson (Dragons) 1 - N Blacklock (Dragons)

WARRIORS 26 Tries: Swann 2, Villasanti, Tony, Toopi Goals: Jones 3/5 defeated RAIDERS 18 Tries: Monaghan 2, Wiki Goals: Schifcofske 3/4 Sunday 22 June 2003 2:00 PM Local 12.00pm AEST Ericsson Stadium Referee: Shayne Hayne Crowd: 18,375 Player of the Year Awards 3 - L Swann (Warriors) 2 - B Webb (Warriors) 1 - M Monaghan (Raiders)

TIGERS 30 Tries: Covell, Wilson, Fitzhenry, Galea, Laffranchi. Goals: Covell 5/6 defeated ROOSTERS 22 Tries: Cross 2, Finch, Paea Goals: Fittler 3/4 Sunday 22 June 2003 2:30 PM Campbelltown Stadium Referee: Steve Lyons Crowd: 8,573 player of the year points: 3 - T Hill (Tigers) 2 - L Covell (Tigers) 1 - E Grothe (Roosters)

STORM 12 Tries: Slater Goals: Orford (4/4) defeated by BULLDOGS 26 Tries: Reardon, Vagana 2, Sherwin Goals: El Masri (5/5) Sunday 22 June 2003 3:00 PM Olympic Park Melbourne Referee: Paul Simpkins Crowd: 10,782 Leagueunlimted players of the match: 3 - M O'Meley (Bulldogs) 2 - B Sherwin (Bulldogs) 1 - M Orford (Storm) Player of the Year Awards Round 15

Tally update: 18 points: D Lockyer (Broncos) 16 points: P Campbell (Panthers), C Schicofske (Raiders) 15 points: L Bailey (Dragons), A Johns (Knights), M Orford (Storm) 13 points: C Fitzgibbon (Roosters) 12 points: B Kimmorley (Sharks), A Minichiello (Roosters), S Price (Bulldogs) 10 points: C Gower (Panthers), PJ Marsh (Warriors), B Sherwin (Bulldogs), M Sing (Cowboys) 9 points: B Drew (Raiders), T Hill (Tigers), J Smith (Rabbitohs), R Wesser (Panthers), B Walker (Sea Eagles), C Wing (Roosters) 8 points: J Ferris (Sea Eagles), G Morrison (Cowboys), D Nutley (Sharks), L Priddis (Panthers), R Wiki (Raiders) 7 points: S Berrigan (Broncos), D Buderus (Knights), L Hohaia (Warriors), S Kearney (Storm), J Morris (Eels), B Slater (Storm) 6 points: T Carroll (Broncos), S Faumuina (Warriors), B Firman (Dragons), B Kennedy (Knights), M O'Meley (Bulldogs), C Pearson (Wests Tigers), A Watmough (Sea Eagles), L Withers (Wests Tigers) 5 points: K Campion (Cowboys), B Fittler (Roosters), J Hannay (Cowboys), D Peachey (Sharks), P Stringer (Rabbitohs), L Swann (Warriors), G Tallis (Broncos), L Thompson (Dragons), N Vagana (Bulldogs), S Woolford (Raiders) 4 points: D Abraham (Knights), M Bowen (Cowboys), T Byrne (Roosters), B Finch (Roosters), B Fletcher (Rabbitohs), B Hodgson (Eels), R Kearns (Storm), J Lyon (Eels), L McWilliams (Cowboys), J Monaghan (Raiders), T Puletua (Panthers), C Randall (Sea Eagles), M Riddell (Dragons), J Skandalis (Tigers), B Tate (Broncos), S Timmins (Dragons), P Whatuira (Panthers) 3 points: B Anasta (Bulldogs), S Bell (Storm), O Craigie (Rabbitohs), H El Masri (Bulldogs), P Graham (Raiders), A Guttenbeil (Warriors), N Hindmarsh (Eels), S Jones (Warriors), J Lowe (Cowboys), W Mason (Bulldogs), M McClinden (Raiders), F Meli (Warriors), A Morley (Roosters), D Myles (Cowboys), J Perry (Knights), J Seu Seu (Warriors), B Webb (Warriors), S Webcke (Broncos) 2 points: P Bailey (Sharks), L Covell (Tigers), D Byrne (Dragons), D Carlaw (Broncos), J Caine (Wests Tigers), L Dorn (Sea Eagles), J Feeney (Bulldogs), M Gasnier (Dragons), M Gidley (Knights), A Graham (Eels), B Harris (Bulldogs), S Hill (Storm), L Hopkins (Eels), J Lolesi (Raiders), A MacDougall (Knights), M McLinden (Raiders), N Merritt (Rabbitohs), P Rauhihi (Cowboys), B Reeves (Sea Eagles), S Rudder (Knights), S Sattler (Panthers), D Senter (Wests Tigers), J Seu Seu (Warriors), S Tadulala (Storm) 1 point: T Barrett (Dragons), C Beattie (Sharks), N Blacklock (Dragons), M De Vere (Broncos), S Donald (Sea Eagles), S Dunley (Eels), H Fa'afili (Warriors), B Galea (Wests Tigers), P Gallen (Sharks), J Galuvao (Panthers), R Girdler (Panthers), E Grothe (Roosters), A Hart (Rabbitohs), J Hodges (Roosters), S Kelly (Broncos), D Kidwell (Storm), F Meli (Warriors), S Menzies (Sea Eagles), R O'Davis (Knights), M Peterson (Eels), A Quinn (Knights), L Ricketson (Roosters), C Sheppard (Cowboys), T Smith (Raiders), R Swain (Broncos), J Thurston (Bulldogs), D Widders (Eels), M Witt (Eels), A Woolnough (Knights)