Sea Eagles swoop back into Finals contention

Manly Sea Eagles have tonight moved themselves into 5th position on the NRL table after a decisive victory over the Roosters, languishing at the bottom of the table, by an emphatic 44-12.

The Manly side started the game confidentially and never faltered throughout their whole match. After back to back losses they had a point to prove and did so with practically error free footy in the first half.

Early points in the half to both sides looked to set up the makings of a classic match. However that was a close as the Roosters got.

The halftime score of 20-6 to the Sea Eagles a good indication of the patient football the Sea Eagles were showing and the solid foundation they laid set them up perfectly for rest of the match.

A 80 minute try to the Roosters the only positive for the side in the second half as the Sea Eagles piled the points on the board resulting in 7 tries for the match.

Match Details Sydney Roosters 12 def by Manly Sea Eagles 44 Round 23 - Saturday August 15th, 2009 5:30pm Venue: Sydney Football Stadium Referee: Jared Maxwell & Bernard Sutton Sideline Officials: Jeff Younis & Adam Reid Video Referee: Chris Ward Crowd: 9,968 Halftime Sea Eagles 20 Roosters 6

Sydney Roosters 12 Tries: Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Iwi Hauraki Goals: Craig Fitzgibbon (2/2)

Manly Sea Eagles 44 Tries: Glenn Stewart, David Williams (2), Matt Orford, Michael Robertson (2), Jason King Goals: Matt Orford (6/6), Jamie Lyon (2/2) Player of the Match 3 Points: Matt Orford (Sea Eagles) 2 Points: Anthony Watmough (Sea Eagles) 1 Point: Glenn Stewart (Sea Eagles) Live Commentary:

The Sea Eagles are looking to end their losing streak. 2 losses from their last 2 matches is not helping their quest for a finals spot. The Roosters would like nothing better than to get themselves off the bottom of the ladder.

Both teams as per programme. Talk about the game as it happens - Roosters v Sea Eagles forum discussion - click here!

ROOSTERS: 1. Sam Perrett 2. Iwi Hauraki 3. Mitchell Aubusson 4. Setaimata Sa 5. Shaun Kenny-Dowall 6. Anthony Minichiello 7. Mitchell Pearce 8. Frank-Paul Nuuausala 9. Jake Friend 10. Lopini Paea 11. Iosia Soliola 12. Willie Mason 13. Craig Fitzgibbon Interchange: 14. Stanley Waqa 15. Shane Shackleton 16. Riley Brown 17. Ben Jones

SEA EAGLES: 1. Michael Robertson 2. Ben Farrar 3. Jamie Lyon 4. Steve Matai 5. David Williams 6. Kieran Foran 7. Matt Orford (c) 8. Jason King 9. Matt Ballin 10. Josh Perry 11. Anthony Watmough 12. Chris Bailey 13. Glenn Stewart Interchange: 14. Heath L