Sharks signing takes Jets Top Award
for 2004

Sydney Airport Jets front-rower James Stosic has won the club's most prestigious award, the VB Premier League best and fairest award for 2004. Stosic joined the Newtown club this year following seasons in the New Zealand Bartercard Cup competition and with the Canberra Raiders and Queensland Cup club Redcliffe. He set the highest standards with his tireless on-field workrate, his application to fitness, training and personal professionalism, and has deservedly earned himself a full-time NRL contract with the Cronulla Sharks for 2005. The Sydney Airport Jets 2004 Presentation Night was staged last Friday night at Steve Bowden's palatial Hurstville Ritz Hotel. Bowden, a former Newtown first grade front-rower and NSW representative, is a generous club sponsor and he and his staff spared no effort in making the Presentation Night a total success, both in the quality of the venue and the excellence and abundance of the catering. The other Sydney Airport Jets award winners were as follows -

VB Premier League Players' Player award: a tie between Craig Field and Ben Cook. Jim Beam Cup Players' Player: Hamilton Hughes. Jim Beam Cup best and fairest: Channarith Ly. The Fred Daly Memorial Award: Phillip Leuluai. Club Coach's Awards: Thomas Gemmell (VB Premier League) and David Vial (Jim Beam Cup). Rookie of the Year: David Hall. Clubman of the Year: Dennis Yates. Leading Points Scorer: Troy Barnes. Leading Try Scorer: John Sinisa. Long-serving utility player Chris Williams was presented with an appropriately embroidered club bomber jacket in recognition of his having reached the milestone of 100 games with the club during the 2004 season. Club Operations Manager Terry Rowney thanked Newtown's tremendous group of sponsors, including major sponsors Sydney Airport and Petersham RSL Club, for their wholehearted support during 2004. The 2005 season, Newtown's 98th in Rugby League football, is shaping up as one of the most decisive in the club's history with many exciting prospects arising from the newly-formed association with NRL giants the Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks