Shaun Fensom wins 2011 Meninga Medal

Shaun Fensom Wins 2011 Meninga Medal

Canberra Raiders lock forward Shaun Fensom has taken out the Meninga Medal, for the Raiders best and fairest player in 2011.

Fensom has had a fantastic year for the Green Machine playing in all 24 matches, making a staggering 1135 tackles and leading the Raiders in offloads with 38 for the season.

It's been a massive year for Fensom who has established himself as one of the Raiders mainstay's in the forward pack, with the young lock growing in stature within the club after captaining the Raiders to the inaugural Toyota Cup premiership in 2008.

Fensom is a fine example of what hard work and dedication can do for a young player and since spending the majority of 2009 playing for the Raiders feeder club Souths Logan, he's gone on to secure a new contract with the club and is seen as a future leader.

The Meninga Medal is awarded on a 3-2-1 points system, which is voted on by the players at the end of each regular season match.

In the most lopsided voting count since the Meninga Medal was introduced in 2008,  Fensom polled a staggering 24 votes, nine clear of second placed Dane Tilse on 15 votes and third placed Joel Thompson on 14 votes.

Other Raiders award winners on the night included Tilse who picked up the NRL Coaches award and Sam Williams who took home the title as Raiders rookie of the year.

David Shillington backed up his nomination for the Ken Stephen medal by taking home the Raiders clubman of the year award, while rising star Jack Wighton was named the Raiders Toyota Cup player of the year and junior representative player of the year.

Meninga Medal Final Tally

Shaun Fensom (24 Votes) WINNER

Dane Tilse (15 Votes)

Joel Thompson (14 Votes)

Josh McCrone (11 Votes)

Blake Ferguson (10 Votes)

Josh Dugan (10 Votes)

Brett White (10 Votes)

2011 Meninga Medal - Honour Roll

Meninga Medal Winner: Shaun Fensom

NRL Coaches Award: Dane Tilse

NRL Rookie of the Year: Sam Williams

Fred Daly Memorial Clubman of the year: David Shillington

Toyota Cup player of the year: Jack Wighton

Toyota Cup Coaches award: Sami Sauiluma

Gordon McLucas Memorial award for Junior Representative Player of the year: Jack Wighton

Geoff Caldwell Vocational Encouragement Award for Career & Education: Geoff Lynch