Shillington wins Meninga Medal

Shillington wins Meninga Medal

Canberra Raiders workhorse prop David Shillington has capped off a remarkable regular season, by winning the third annual Meninga Medal for the Canberra Raiders player of the year tonight.

Shillington took out the award in the last round of voting, getting one point against the Broncos in round 26 to edge out Terry Campese, after they were equal on 15 points at the end of round 24.

The win continues a big week for Shillington who picked up the Dally M Prop of the year award on Tuesday night, after a wonderful season for the Raiders.

Shillington has been in career best form in season 2010, playing all three games for Queensland's State of Origin team, a test for Australia and an NRL All-Stars match.

It's been his form though for the Raiders which has been most impressive, with the Raiders big man leading his team up front with distinction all season.

Rising star Daniel Vidot took out the Coach's award for his outstanding season as leading try scorer for the club, while Sam Mataora took out the Raiders rookie of the year award.

Dane Tilse was named clubman of the year for his outstanding work both on and off the field, while Toyota Cup half Jack Wighton was named junior representative player of the year for making the Australian Schoolboys side.

In the Toyota Cup the players' player went to star second row forward Mark Nicholls, with Captain Sam Williams winning the Coach's award.

Canberra Raiders 2010 Meninga Medal Gala Evening

Meninga Medal

16 points David Shillington - WINNER

15 points Terry Campese

13 points Daniel Vidot

11 points Tom Learoyd-Lahrs, Trevor Thurling, Jarrod Croker

 CFMEU NRL Coach's award - Daniel Vidot

Local Liquor Rookie of the year - Sam Mataora

Fred Daly Memorial Clubman of the year - Dane Tilse

Gordon McLucas Memorial award for Junior Representative Player of the Year - Jack Wighton

Goodyear Autocare Phillip Toyota Cup Player's Player - Mark Nicholls

Canberra Milk Toyota Cup Coach's award - Sam Williams

Geoff Caldwell Encouragement award for education - Mark Appleton

 Previous Meninga Medal winners

2008 - Joel Monaghan

2009 - Josh Dugan and Josh Miller