Squads Announced For County Of

The squads for next Wednesday's Origin Game at Odsal have been announced, with a total of nine debutants selected, including Castleford duo Andy Lynch and Ryan Hudson and Lancashire pair Steve Prescott and Mike Forshaw. Yorkshire will host Lancashire at Odsal on 2 July in a bid to end their three-game losing run against their Red Rose rivals since the Origin concept returned in 2001.

The hosts will be coached by Castleford's Graham Steadman and captained by Tigers stand off Danny Orr, and they include four Origin debutants.

Hudson, Lynch and Wakefield centre Gareth Ellis all impressed on last year's England A Tour of Fiji and Tonga, while Leeds prop Ryan Bailey starred for England Academy against the Australian Schoolboys and has stepped up to Super League level.

Their 17 includes five players from Bradford Bulls and Leeds Rhinos and four from Castleford.

Lancashire include five newcomers to the cross-county battle, including veteran back rower Mike Forshaw and St Helens' Sean Long, who was named in the 2001 squad but withdrew through injury.

Hull full back Steve Prescott is rewarded for the form which saw him named as the Tetley's Super League Player of the Month for May with a call-up, while Wigan duo Brian Carney, an Irish winger, and prop Danny Sculthorpe also come in.

Lancashire, who are led by Wigan and Great Britain captain Andy Farrell and coached by Warrington's Paul Cullen, have five players from Wigan Warriors and St Helens in their 17.

Squads in full

Yorkshire: Paul Anderson (Bradford Bulls), Ryan Bailey (Leeds Rhinos), Mark Calderwood (Leeds Rhinos), Matt Diskin (Leeds Rhinos), Gareth Ellis (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats), Lee Gilmour (Bradford Bulls), Lee Harland (Castleford Tigers), David Hodgson (Wigan Warriors), Richard Horne (Hull FC), Ryan Hudson (Castleford Tigers), Andy Lynch (Castleford Tigers), Danny Orr (captain, Castleford Tigers), Jamie Peacock (Bradford Bulls), Karl Pratt (Bradford Bulls), Leon Pryce (Bradford Bulls), Keith Senior (Leeds Rhinos), Chev Walker (Leeds Rhinos).

Lancashire: Brian Carney (Wigan Warriors), Gary Connolly (Leeds Rhinos), Keiron Cunningham (St Helens), Paul Deacon (Bradford Bulls), Andy Farrell (captain, Wigan Warriors), Mike Forshaw (Bradford Bulls), Martin Gleeson (St Helens), Mark Hilton (Warrington Wolves), Paul Johnson (Wigan Warriors), Sean Long (St Helens), Barrie McDermott (Leeds Rhinos), Terry Newton (Wigan Warriors), Steve Prescott (Hull FC), Danny Sculthorpe (Wigan Warriors), Paul Sculthorpe (St Helens), Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos), Paul Wellens (St Helens).