Storm sink scrappy Sea Eagles

The Melbourne Storm have come away from Brookvale Oval tonight with a 22-8 win over Manly in the Grand Final replay, with 10,752 watching a penalty-filled contest.

Whilst they are unable to receive Player of the Match points, Shayne Hayne and Tony De Las Heras featured heavily over the course of the match, which showed signs of promise early, blowing 17 penalties between them to bring the game to a frustrating standstill.

The Storm opened proceedings with an early try, Greg Inglis splitting the Manly line in two to stroll over beside the posts. Manly hit back soon after through makeshift fullback Michael Robertson, but Jamie Lyon was unable to even the scores.

A powerful try in the corner to Storm winger Steve Turner put the Storm 10-4 in front after just 15 minutes. As penalties mounted against Manly for poor discipline in and around the play-the-ball, the Storm managed to trouble the scorers twice more in the second half, through first a penalty goal then a try off the next set to utility Matt Cross.

The second half started error and penalty free but Melbourne took the first advantage just over five minutes in, Billy Slater crossing the line and putting the result beyond realistic doubt.

From there, Manly had endless chances at the Storm line, managing just one try in the 57th minute to rampaging winger David Williams. Melbourne's discpline continued to let them down, Manly earning repeat sets and tiring the Storm defence, but no more points came of it.

The final scoreline of 22-8 was probably flattering for an otherwise lacklustre Melbourne Storm, while Manly will have to go well and truly back to the drawing board as the win-loss ratio without Stewart continues to have a zero in the "Win" column.

Next week the Sea Eagles travel to Suncorp Stadium to face the imposing Brisbane Broncos, while the Storm will travel to Gosford to meet the Roosters in Monday Night Football.

Match Details Melbourne Storm 22 def Manly Sea Eagles 8 Round 8 - Friday May 1st, 2009 7:35pm Venue: Brookvale Oval Referee: Shayne Hayne, Tony De Las Heras Touch Judges: Russell Turner, Steve Carrall Video Ref: Bill Harrigan Crowd: 10,752 Halftime: Storm 16-4

Manly Sea Eagles 8 Tries: Michael Robertson, David Williams Goals: Jamie Lyon (0/2) Melbourne Storm 22 Tries: Greg Inglis, Steve Turner, Matt Cross, Billy Slater
Goals: Cameron Smith (3/5) Player of the Match 3 Points: Cooper Cronk (Storm) 2 Points: Billy Slater (Storm) 1 Point: Jamie Lyon (Sea Eagles) Live Commentary We're at the old "Fortress Brookie" - Manly's Brookvale Oval for the Grand Final replay. Much has changed since last these sides met. Plenty of spite in this clash however, despite both sides languishing mid-table.

Both sides are as named 1-17.

SEA EAGLES: 1. Michael Robertson 2. David Williams 3. Jamie Lyon 4. Steve Matai 5. Michael Bani 6. Chris Bailey 7. Matt Orford (c) 8. Brent Kite 9. Matt Ballin 10. Josh Perry 11. Anthony Watmough 12. Glenn Hall 13. Glenn Stewart Interchange: 14. Heath L