Storm too good for gutsy Rabbitohs

The Melbourne Storm have defeated South Sydney Rabbitohs by 28-22 in front of a full house at Perth's Members Equity Stadium tonight.

Following recent dismal performances, the Rabbitohs started as rank outsiders prior to kick off. But with the WA crowd behind them, Souths took the match to Melbourne, scoring the opening two tries to post a 10-0 lead after 18 minutes of play.

The Storm replied with two tries in the 23rd and 50th minutes to make it 10-all at half time.

An upset looked to be on the cards when Souths opened the scoring in the second half to take a 16-10 lead. The Storm however, struck back soonafter to make it 16-14.

But it was perhaps the try to fullback Nathan Merritt in the 52nd minute that gave Rabbitohs supporters the greatest ray of hope. Leading 22-14, and on the ascendancy, South Sydney had every opportunity to go on with it.

The tide turned in the Storm's favour when halfback Cooper Cronk scored what looked like a soft try in the 62nd minute.

Then six minutes later, centre Greg Inglis cut loose with a sideline run to set up the heart-breaker and put the Storm in front 24-22.

A late try to winger Joseph Tomane gave the Storm a six point lead and enough to grab the two competition points against a gutsy Rabbitohs outifit.

Match Details Melbourne Storm 28 def South Sydney Rabbitohs 22 Round 14 - Saturday June 13th, 2009 09:30pm Venue: Members Equity Stadium, Perth Referee: Chris James & Ashley Klein Touch Judges: Daniel Eastwood & Gavin Morris Video Referee: Steve Clark Crowd: 15,197 Half time: 10-all

South Sydney Rabbitohs 22 Tries: Jamie Simpson (2), David Fa'alogo, Nathan Merritt Goals: Chris Sandow (3/4) Melbourne Storm 28 Tries: Greg Inglis, Ryan Hoffman, Wairangi Koopu, Cooper Cronk, Steve Turner, Joseph Tomane Goals: Cameron Smith (2/5), Joseph Tomane (0/1) Player of the Match 3 Points: Greg Inglis (Storm) 2 Points: David Fa'alogo (Rabbitohs) 1 Point: Ryan Hoffman (Storm) Live Commentary Talk about the game as it happens - Rabbitohs v Storm forum discussion - click here!

RABBITOHS: 2. Nathan Merritt 21. Jamie Simpson 3. Colin Best 4. Beau Champion 5. Fetuli Talanoa 6. John Sutton 7. Chris Sandow 8. Scott Geddes 9. Craig Wing 10. Roy Asotasi (c) 11. Luke Stuart 12. David Fa