Summer Conference Amateur winners...

SOUTH LONDON STORM 30 EAST LANCASHIRE LIONS 0 - Broadstreet, Coventry Rugby League Conference 2006 - Harry Jepson Trophy Grand Final

A southern variation of 'jingle bells' rang out around Broadstreet as for the first time in RLC history a side were nilled in a final when South London Storm comprehensively took apart East Lancashire Lions to win the Harry Jepson Trophy; the seventh side to capture the silverware in nine seasons.

Dominant in defence with back row trio Alan Emerson, Don Varcoe and Todd Brandon outstanding and sharp in attack - especially in the opening half hour with hooker Luke Bonner the hub - South's finished a fine campaign in some style.

East Lancashire, in their first decider were disappointing and out muscled but hung in the contest until Darren Bartley crossed in the 51st minute to make it 14-0 and put the game out of their reach.

Then the frustration boiled over for the Lions and prop Chris Allen and playmaker Anthony Aldcroft were dismissed both for high challenges in the space of a mad six minutes and Storm cruised to a well deserved win.

With this South London Storm who are proudly sponsored by two local companies, the Beer Circus Pub in Croydon and sports kit retailers and manufacturers, became the first London based club to win the Harry Jepson Trophy and with it the National Title.

South London coach Rob Powell was thrilled by the reward of a trophy at the end of a great season for his charges.

"It wasn't a pretty game but I thought the lads applied themselves really well and kept their discipline when they could have lost it" he said.

"It's testament to them, there has been two years of hard work and some testing times but the guys really pulled together and I'm really proud to be their coach."

- - - - -

The Summer Conference consists of 31 amateur rugby league clubs from England and Wales playing in four Premier Divisions with the aim of winning the Harry Jepson Trophy Grand Final.

The Conference also has eight Regional Divisions operating below the Premier Divisions, comprising of another 49 clubs.