Surprises in
Cronulla's 25 man Squad

A number of surprise omissions marked the announcement of Cronulla's twenty five man squad yesterday as coach Stuart Raper opted for a youth rather than experience. Jason Kent, Pat Gibson and Andrew Emilio - who have all spent considerably periods of time in first grade - were the most notable names missing from the list.

Eighteen year old prop forward, Jon Green, was the biggest surprise inclusion. Green, who arrived at Cronulla via Western Australia, is joined in the squad by fellow youngsters Russell Aitken and Keith Galloway. New recruits Nigel Vagana, Nathan Merritt, Ryan McGoldrick, Andrew Lomu, Michael Russo and Hassan Saleh also made the cut.

The full Cronulla Sharks squad list for 2004 is:

Fullback: David Peachey

Wingers: Matthew Rieck Nathan Merritt Hassan Saleh

Centres: Nigel Vagana Ryan McGoldrick Paul Franze

Five Eighths: Greg Bird Russell Aitken

Halfbacks: Brett Kimmorley Michael Sullivan

Back rowers: Matt Hilder Paul Gallen Keith Galloway Sam Isemonger Matt Bickerstaff Michael Russo Phil Bailey Andrew Lomu

Front rowers: Jason Stevens Danny Nutley Chris Beattie Dale Newton Jon Green

Hookers: Dean Bosnich