Team of the Decade Honours for Dolphins

This article is courtesy of the Redcliffe and Bayside Herald and written by Joel Gould

Redcliffe Dolphins had five players named in the Queensland Cup team of decade function at Suncorp Stadium on grand final day.

Shane Perry and Troy Lindsay were named in the side, along with former Dolphins Trent Leis, James Hinchey and Adam Mogg.
Perry was selected at five-eighth while Lindsay, who played in the first Queensland Cup season in 1996, was picked at prop. Hinchey was a premiership winning second-rower who retired at the end of 2000 while Mogg, picked at fullback now plays for Canberra in the NRL. Winger Leis, who has played for Redcliffe and Burleigh, lined with the Burleigh Bears in their grand final loss to North Queensland Young Guns.
Hinchey, Redcliffe Dolphins chief executive officer, said he was honoured to be in the side but gave credit to the Dolphins club. ?It?s a bit of a mark of respect for what the club has done in the Queensland Cup. We have been a force really,? Hinchey said.
?And someone like Shane Perry probably has five years left in him. And as for as Cowboy (Lindsay), he is just going great. He is playing better now than he ever has.?
Hinchey said former Redcliffe players such as centre Brian Jellick and forward Grant Cleal were unlucky to miss out. ?If it was up to me I?d probably pick all Redcliffe blokes. But the side they chose is a great one.?
Troy Lindsay said there were some unlucky Dolphins forwards not to have made the side. ?Ian Graham and Grant Cleal are a couple who were very unlucky. We?ve dominated the comp for the last ten years so we could?ve got a few more in, but you can only have so many,? he said. ?There are a lot of good players who have made the team as well. It?s a tribute to everyone.?
Lindsay, 30, cannot wait for the 2006 season to start. ?I?ll go again, and I?ll probably go again the year after that too? he said. ?It took a while for the team to get going this year but by the end of it, we were full steam ahead.?
Queensland Cup Team of the Decade
1. Adam Mogg (Redcliffe) 2. Heath Egglestone (Central) 3. Steve Bell (Central, Norths) 4. David Maiden (Cairns) 5. Trent Leis (Redcliffe, Burleigh) 6. Shane Perry (Brothers, Logan, Redcliffe) 7. Kevin Charmichael (Norths) 8. Troy Lindsay (Redcliffe) 9. Ryan Gundry (Norths, Burleigh) 10. Danny McAllister (Logan, Ipswich, Wynnum) 11. James Hinchey (Redcliffe) 12. Alan Wieland (Wests) 13. Don Saunders (Toowoomba, Central) 14. Reggie Cressbrook (Townsville, Ipswich, Burleigh) 15. Kyle Warren (Toowoomba, Ipswich) 16. Andrew Hamilton (Sunshine Coast, Ipswich, Norths) 17. Sime Busby (Central, Easts) Coach Rick Stone (Burleigh) Referee Tony Maksoud