Three Jets feature in the NSW
Residents representative team

The Newtown RLFC is pleased to announce that three Sydney Airport Jets players have been selected in the NSW Residents Rugby League representative team to play Queensland Residents on Wednesday, July 6th at Suncorp Stadium. The three players are Nathan Merritt, Vince Mellars and James Stosic. In addition, Kevin Kingston has been named as a stand-by player for the representative squad.

This is by far the strongest-ever representation by the Newtown club at this level of representative football. The last Newtown player to represent the NSW Residents team was Jason Bell in 2000.

The following is from the official NSW Rugby League Media Release:

The Chairman of the New South Wales Rugby League, Mr Colin Love, is pleased to announce the following players have been selected to represent NSW in the annual NSW Residents v QLD Residents match which will be played before Game 3 of the Harvey Norman State Origin Series on Wednesday 6th July 2005 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.

The team: Fullback Nathan Merritt Newtown Jets Wing John Williams Parramatta Eels

Centre Steve Matai Manly Sea Eagles Centre Ashley Graham Parramatta Eels Wing Vince Mellars Newtown Jets Five Eighth Terry Campese Canberra Raiders Half Back Grant Rovelli Sydney Roosters Lock Forward Luke O?Dwyer Parramatta Eels Second Row Todd Maddison Newcastle Knights Second Row Daniel Conn Bulldogs Prop Forward Mickey Paea Sydney Roosters Hooker Brett Finn Windsor Wolves Prop Forward James Stosic Newtown Jets Interchange:

Chris Bailey Northern Blues Jermaine Ale Canberra Raiders Josh Cordoba Parramatta Eels Ben Hannant Sydney Roosters

Coach - Craig Wilson (Cronulla-Sutherland).