Warriors squad named for Roosters game

Fullback Brent Webb has been stood down for disciplinary reasons for the Warriors' NRL match against the Roosters at Ericsson Stadium on Sunday.

Head coach Tony Kemp said Webb would instead play Bartercard Cup football for the North Harbour Tigers in their semifinal against the Canterbury Bulls this weekend.

"Brent Webb was in breach of team protocols," said Kemp.

"The matter has been handled internally. It has nothing to do with the recent incident he was involved in but should serve as a warning to the whole squad that I won't tolerate such breaches."

Also out of the side to face the Roosters are centre-winger Clinton Toopi and prop Richard Villasanti. Toopi will miss one match after an early guilty plea on a grade one charge of dropping his knees on Parramatta fullback Wade McKinnon, while Villasanti is out with a sternum injury.

With Webb and Toopi both missing, Sione Faumuina moves into the centres, Vinnie Anderson switches to the right wing and Jerome Ropati, returning from a one-match injury lay-off, starts at fullback. Stacey Jones is back at halfback after he, too, missed the Parramatta match with a leg injury.

Coming into the front row for Villasanti is interchange regular Karl Temata, making just his fifth start of the season.

Kemp has also named another NRL newcomer in Christchurch-born 108kg prop Kane Ferris. Ferris is on the interchange bench with winger Cooper Vuna, who last weekend became the Warriors' youngest NRL debutant at the age of 17 years, 47 days. Ferris becomes the Warriors' 34th NRL player this year.

In other club news, prop Jerry Seuseu is still recovering from arthroscopic surgery on the knee he injured in the loss to Brisbane on August 7. He hopes to be available for selection for the last match of the season against the Bulldogs, his final chance to play for the Warriors before taking up a contract to play for Wigan in the English Super League.

Meanwhile, stand-off Marcus Perenara has been released from his contract.

The team for this Sunday's match against the Roosters at Ericsson Stadium (kick-off 2.00pm NZT), is:

1. Jerome Ropati 2. Vinnie Anderson 3. Tony Martin 4. Sione Faumuina 5. Francis Meli 6. Lance Hohaia 7. Stacey Jones 8. Iafeta Paleaaesina 9. Louis Anderson 10. Karl Temata 11. Wairangi Koopu 12. Awen Guttenbeil 13. Monty Betham (captain) 14. Epalahame Lauaki 15. Evarn Tuimavave 16. Kane Ferris 17. Cooper Vuna