Wollongong Sevens Attracts Record
30 Teams

Nominations are now closed after Shellharbour Sharks became the 29th side to enter the 2005 Wollongong Sevens. With the Cook Islands entering two senior teams alongside their eighteens, 30 participants will now contest the tournament in the seniors with six in the under eighteens.

The confirmed sides are:

Aquinas Holy Family Colts, Auburn Warriors, Blacktown City Warriors, Brighton Seagulls, Colyton-Mt Druitt Colts, Cook Islands(2 teams),Coogee Dolphins, Corrimal Cougars, Fiji A, Helensburgh Tigers, Hibiscus Coast Raiders (NZ), Colts, Kiama Knights, Kingsgrove Colts, Moorebank Rams, Nowra Warriors, Port Kembla Blacks, Rosehill Brumbies, St Christophers Saints, St Clair Comets, Sydney University, Thirroul Butchers, Tonga, UTS Jets, Valley United Spartans, Victoria University (Wellington NZ), Wests Red Devils and hosts Wollongong Uni Books.

The eighteens tournament consists of Wollongong Uni, Port Kembla, Cook Islands, Shellharbour City Sharks and (Illawarra) Wests Red Devils.

This is a good balance of clubs with the Tooheys Illawarra league having seven of their nine clubs leading the way. South Coast Group Seven has two sides with Picton from Group six another southern division participant.

Many Sydney competitions are represented from the western suburbs to the north shore and two sides will fly over from New Zealand to join Fiji A, Tonga and the Cook Islands, giving a cosmopolitan feel to the event.

The Wollongong Sevens will be held on February 18 and 19 2005 at Kooloobong Oval Keiraville. There will be plenty of great food and drink, with a non-alcohol family area set aside.